STATE OF RHODE ISLAND AND PROVIDENCE PLANTATIONS

DIVISION OF PUBLIC UTILITIES AND CARRIERS

Motor Carriers Section

89 Jefferson Blvd. FAX (401) 941-9161
Warwick, R.I. 02888

(401) 941-4500

UNIFIED CARRIER REGISTRATION PROGRAM

*IMPORTANT NOTICE FOR ALL INTERSTATE MOTOR CARRIERS**

If you operate a truck, a bus or a passenger vehicle listed below in interstate or international commerce there is a new federal
law that applies to your business.

The Unified Carrier Registration (UCR) Program requires individuals and Rhode Island-based companies that operate
commercial motor vehicles in interstate or international commerce to register their business with Rhode Island and pay an
annual fee based on the size of their fleet.

A “Commercial Motor Vehicle” is defined as a self-propelled or towed vehicle used on the highways in commerce principally
to transport passengers or cargo, if the vehicle:

(a) has a gross vehicle weight of 10,001 pounds or more;
(b) is designed to transport 11 or more passengers (including the driver); or
(c) is used in transporting hazardous materials in a quantity requiring placarding.

You MUST register in order to operate in interstate commerce (both for-hire and private carriers) beginning September 10,
2007.

THE FEE BRACKETS FOR MOTOR CARRIERS ARE AS FOLLOWS:

Fleet Size Fee Per
(Include Trailers) Company
From To
0 2 $ 39.00
3 5 $ 116.00
6 20 $ 231.00
21 100 $ 806.00
101 1,000 $ 3,840.00
1,001 200,000 $ 37,500.00

Example: A motor carrier operating four tractors, eight trailers and nine straight trucks has a fleet size
of twenty-one commercial motor vehicles and pays $806.00.

Included in this mailing is a UCR application form and instruction sheet. To avoid delays, it is highly recommended that you
register on-line. Go to www.ucr.in.gov and follow the step-by-step instructions for self registration.

Payments by mail must be made by check or money order made payable to the “Rhode Island Division of Public Utilities &
Carriers.” Please place your USDOT # on the remarks line of your check. Mail certified checks or money orders to:

Division of Public Utilities & Carriers
UCR Registration Program
89 Jefferson Boulevard
Warwick, RI 02888

If you would like to learn more about UCR go www.ripuc.state.ri.us or call the Division at (401) 780-2158.




Instruction Sheet for UCR Carrier Registration

What is my base state for UCR?

(A) If your principle place of business as completed in Section 1 of the form is AL, AR, CO, CT, GA, IA, ID, IL, IN, KS, KY, LA, MA, ME, MI,
MS, MT, ND, NE, NH, NM, NY, OH, OK, RI, SC, SD, TN, TX, UT, VA, WA, WI, or WV, you must use that state as your base state. If
your principle place of business is not in one of these states, go to (B).

(B) Ifyour principle place of business is not one of the states listed in (A) above but you have an office or operating facility located in one of the
states listed in (A) above, you must use that state as your base state.

(C) Ifyou cannot select a base state using (A) or (B) above, you must select your base state from (A) above that is nearest to the location of your
principle place of business; or

(D) Select your base state as follows:

a.  Ifyour principle place of business is in DC, DE, MD, NJ, PA, or VT or the Canadian Province of ON, NB, NL, NS, PE, or QC, you
may select one of the following states: CT, MA, ME, NH, NY, RI, VA, or WV.

b. Ifyour principle place of business is in FL or NC or a state of Mexico, you may select one of the following states: AL, AR, GA,
KY, LA, MS, OK, SC, TN, or TX.

c.  Ifyour principle place of business is in MO or MN or the Canadian Province of ON or MB, you may select one of the following
states: IA, IL, IN, KS, MI, NE, OH, or WI.

d.  Ifyour principle place of business is in AK, AZ, CA, NV, OR, or WY or the Canadian Province of AB, MB, SK, or BC or a state
of Mexico, you may select one of the following states: CO, ID, MT, ND, NM, SD, UT, or WA.
Change of Base State
= Ifyou selected your base state using (C) or (D) above and your principle place of business has moved to a qualified state in (A) or (B) above,
you may at the next registration year change your base state to a state listed in (A) or (B).
Section 1. — General Information
= Enter all identifying information for your company. The owner and DBA name should be identical to what is on file for your USDOT
number (See http://safer.fmcsa.dot.gov/CompanySnapshot.aspx). Enter the principle place of business address that serves as your
headquarters and where your operational records are maintained or can be made available.
Section 2. — Classification (Definitions)
= “Motor carrier” means a person providing motor vehicle transportation for compensation.
=  “Motor private carrier” means a person who provides interstate transportation of property or passengers in order to support its primary line
of business.
= “Broker” means a person, other than a motor carrier, who sells or arranges for transportation by a motor carrier for compensation.
= “Freight forwarder” means a person who arranges for truck transportation of cargo belonging to others, utilizing for-hire carriers to provide
the actual truck transportation, and also performs or provides for assembling, consolidating, break-bulk and distribution of shipments and
assumes responsibility for transportation from place of receipt to destination.
= “Leasing company” means a person or company engaged in the business of leasing or renting for compensation motor vehicles they own
without drivers to a motor carrier, motor private carrier, or freight forwarder.
Section 3. - Fees Due-Brokers, Freight Forwarders and Leasing Companies
= Brokers, freight forwarders and leasing companies pay the lowest fee tier. If your company is also a motor carrier (whether private or for-
hire) you will skip this section of the application.
Section 4. - No. Of Motor Vehicles— Motor Carrier & Motor Private Carrier
= Check the appropriate box indicating where you obtained the vehicle count for the numbers you entered into the table in this section.
= In the table, enter the number of commercial motor vehicles you reported on your last MCS-150 form or the total number of commercial
motor vehicles owned and operated for the 12-month period ending June 30 of the year immediately prior to the year for which the UCR
registration is made. This table includes owned and leased vehicles (term of lease for more than 30 days). Any vehicle designed to transport
10 passengers or less, including the driver, is not defined as a commercial motor vehicle for the purpose of payment of fees under this
program and should not be counted in Column D of the table.

= Option 1. You may subtract the number of property carrying vehicle used solely in intrastate commerce that you included in Section 4,
Columns A or B. You may not enter on this line the number of passenger carrying vehicles included in Column C that were used solely in

intrastate commerce.

. Option 2. You may add the number of owned commercial motor vehicles (straight trucks, tractors, trailers, motor coaches, school buses,
mini-buses, vans or limousines) that were used only in intrastate commerce if they were not included in Columns A, B or C above. You may
also include on this line the number of other self propelled vehicles (not trailers) used in interstate or intrastate commerce to transport
passengers or property for compensation that are not defined as a commercial motor vehicle that have a gross vehicle weight rating or gross
vehicle weight of 10,000 1bs or less or a passenger capacity of 10 or less, including the driver.

=  Line 3, Total Number of Vehicles. Add the number of vehicles shown in Column D, subtract any vehicles you reported in Option 1 and
add any vehicles you reported under Option 2 and show the total on Line 3. Use this total number of vehicles and go to the fee table in
Section 5. Pay the amount due for your total number of vehicles.

= Definition - “Commercial motor vehicle” (as defined under 49 USC Section 31101) means a self-propelled or towed vehicle used on the
highways in commerce principally to transport passengers or cargo, if the vehicle: (1) Has a gross vehicle weight rating or gross vehicle
weight of at least 10,001 pounds, whichever is greater; (2) Is designed to transport more than 10 passengers, including the driver; or (3) Is
used in transporting material found by the Secretary of Transportation to be hazardous under section 5103 of this title and transported in a
quantity requiring placarding under regulations prescribed by the Secretary under section 5103.”

Section 5. — Fee Table for Motor Carrier & Motor Private Carrier
= This table is the approved UCR fees you will pay dependent upon the number of vehicles reported in Section 4. This fee may change from
year to year. Contact your base state if you do not have the fee table for the correct registration period.
Section 6. — Fee Due for Motor Carrier & Motor Private Carrier
= Enter the amount due for the total number of vehicles calculated in Section 4.
Section 7. — Certification
=  The owner or an individual who has a power of attorney to sign on behalf of the owner or owners must sign this form. This certification
indicates that the information is correct under penalty of perjury.



State of Rhode Island and Providence Plantations UNIFIED CARRIER REGISTRATION _2007

Division of Public Utilities & Carriers
89 Jefferson Boulevard
Warwick, Rl 02888

Tex: (401) 780-2158 Fax: (401) 941-9161 To register online go to www.ucr.in.gov
SECTION 1. GENERAL INFORMATION
USDOT Number MC or MX Number FF Number Telephone Number Fax Number
Legal Name E-Mail Address

Doing Business Under the Following Name (DBA)

Principal Place of Business Street Address (See Instructions)

Principal Business City Principal Business State Zip Code

Mailing Street Address

Mailing City Mailing State Mailing Zip Code

SECTION 2. CLASSIFICATION — Check All That Apply |

[ ] Motor Carrier [ ] Motor Private Carrier [ ] Broker [] Leasing Company [] Freight Forwarder

SECTION 3. FEES DUE-BROKERS, FREIGHT FORWARDERSAND LEASING COMPANIESONLY
Note: If your company is also a motor carrier or motor private carrier, skip this section and go to section 4.

Brokers, freight forwarders and leasing companies (not a motor carrier combination) that do not register on-line, must mail the amount
due of $39.00 in the form of a Check or Money Order payableto “ RIDPUC” at the address above and go to Section 7.

SECTION 4. NO. OF MOTOR VEHICLES-MOTOR CARRIER & MOTOR PRIVATE CARRIER
Check only one box:

[] The number of vehicles shown below have been taken from section 26 of your last reported MCS-150 form.

[] The number of vehicles shown below is the total number owned and operated for the 12-month period ending June 30.
NUMBER OF MOTOR COACHES,

NUMBER OF STRAIGHT TRUCKS

NUMBER OF TRAILERS SCHOOL BUSES, MINI-BUSES, VANS TOTAL
A'Z‘CDJLFBAI\ACJ%?S (COLUMN B) AND LIMOUSINES (COLUMN D)
(COLUMN C)

1. (Optional) Under this program you may delete any vehicles in Column A or B above that you have reported on your
MCS 150 form that are used only in intrastate COMMEICE. (See inStructions.) .. ............ccoeeuuuuuuununnnnn.. ( )

2. (Optional) You may add vehiclesthat (a) have not been shown on the MCS 150 form that are defined as commercial
motor vehicles operating solely in intrastate commerce; and/or (b) other self-propelled motor vehicles operating in
intrastate or interstate commerce that:

= Have a gross vehicle weight rating or gross vehicle weight of 10,000 lbs or less, or a passenger capacity of 10 or less, including the driver;
= Are used on the highways in commerce; and
=  To transport passengers or property for compensation. (See instructions for definition of commercial motor vehicle) ..............

3. Total Number of Vehicles (TOTAL (COLUMN D) minus LINE 1 plus LINE 2). . ........c.c. ceviiiieenenns

SECTION 5. FEE TABLE

Number of Vehicles| Amount Due Number of Vehicles| Amount Due Number of Vehicles | Amount Due
0-2 $39.00 6-20 $231.00 101-1000 $3,840.00
35 $116.00 21-100 $806.00 1001 or more $37,500.00

SECTION 6. FEESDUE —MOTOR CARRIER & MOTOR PRIVATE CARRIER

Using the number of vehiclesin Section 4, Line 3 above, enter the Amount Due from the table above. S

Note: If not registering on-line, payment must be made in the form of Check or Money Order made payable to: “RIDPUC” at address above.

SECTION 7. CERTIFICATION |

I, the undersigned, under penalty for false statement, certify that the above information is true and correct and that I am authorized to execute and file

this document on behalf of the applicant. (Penalty provisions subject to the laws of the registration state.)
Name of Owner or Authorized Representative (Printed) Date

Signature Title




Alabama Public Service Commission

Transportation Div. Insurance & Registration Section

P.O. Box 304260
Montgomery, AL 36130
(334) 242-5176 FAX (334) 242-2534

Connecticut Dept. of Motor Vehicles
60 State St., IRP Unit Room 260
Wethersfield, CT 06161-1010

(860) 263-5281 FAX (860) 263-5582

lllinois Commerce Commission
Transportation Bureau

527 East Capitol Ave.

Springfield, IL 62701

(217) 782-4654 FAX (217) 785-1448

Kansas Corporation Commission
1500 SW Arrowhead Road

Topeka, KS 66604-4027

(785) 271-3145 FAX (785) 271-3124

Maine Bureau of Motor Vehicles
Motor Carrier Services - UCR

29 State House Station

Augusta, ME 04333-0029

(207) 624-9000 x 52130 FAX (207) 622-5332

Mississippi Dept. of Transportation
Motor Carrier (66-07)

412 East Woodrow Wilson

Jackson, MS 39216

(888) 737-0061 FAX (601) 576-1373

New Hampshire Dept. of Safety

Road Toll Bureau

33 Hazen Drive

Concord, NH 03305

(603) 271-2447 FAX (603) 271-8211

North Dakota DOT

Motor Vehicle Division

608 East Boulevard Avenue
Bismarck, ND 58505-0780

(701) 328-2725, select 2 FAX (701) 328-3500

Rhode Island Division of Public Utilities & Carriers

89 Jefferson Blvd.
Warwick, Rl 02888
(401) 780-2158 FAX (401) 941-9161

Tennessee Dept. of Revenue
Taxpayer & Vehicle Services Division
Motor Carrier Section-UCR

301 Plus Park Blvd.

Nashville, TN 37217

(615) 399-4266 FAX (615) 361-8249

Virginia Dept. of Motor Vehicles

Motor Carrier Services

P. O. Box 27412

Richmond, VA 23269-0001

(804) 367-0269 FAX (804) 367-0273

Wisconsin Dept. of Transportation
Motor Carrier Services

P.O. Box 7981

Madison, WI 53707-7981

(608) 261-2574 FAX (608) 266-6689

Arkansas Dept. of Finance & Administration

P.O. Box 8091
Little Rock, AR 72203
(501) 682-4653  FAX (501) 682-4615

Georgia Dept. of Revenue

Motor Vehicle Division Rm. 1098

P.O. Box 161227

Atlanta, GA 30321

(404) 362-6484 FAX (404) 363-7587

Indiana Dept. of Revenue

Motor Carrier Services

5252 Decatur Blvd., Suite R
Indianapolis, IN 46241

(317) 615-7350 FAX (317) 821-2339

Kentucky Division of Motor Carriers
P.O. Box 2007

Frankfort, KY 40602

(502) 564-4540 FAX (502) 564-4138

Massachusetts Dept. of Public Utilities
Transportation Oversight Division

One South Station

Boston, MA 02110

(617) 305-3559 FAX (617) 478-2598

Montana Dept. of Transportation

P.O. Box 4639

Helena, MT 59604-4639

(406) 444-2998 FAX (406) 444-0800

New Mexico Public Regulation
Commission/Transportation Division
P.O. Box 1269

Sante Fe, NM 87504-1269

(505) 827-4519 FAX (505) 476-0324

Ohio Public Utilities Commission

180 East Broad St., 14" Floor
Columbus Ohio 43215

(614) 466-3392  FAX (614) 728-9292

South Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles

Motor Carrier Services

P.O. Box 1498

Blythewood, SC 29016

(803) 896-3870 FAX (803) 896-2698

Texas Dept. of Transportation
Motor Carrier Division

PO BOX 12984

Austin, TX 78711-2984

(800) 299-1700 select 2,1,2 FAX (512) 465-3521

Washington Utilities & Transportation
Commission

Licensing Services

P.O. Box 47250

Olympia, WA 98504-7250

(360) 664-1222 FAX (360) 586-1181

Colorado Public Utilities Commission

1560 Broadway, Suite 250

Denver, CO 80202

(303) 894-2000 select 4 FAX (303) 894-2071

Idaho Transportation Dept.

Commercial Vehicle Services - Motor Carrier
P.O. Box 7129

Boise, ID 83707-1129

(208) 334-8611 FAX (208) 334-2006

lowa Dept. of Transportation

P.O. Box 10382

Des Moines, 1A 50306-0382

(515) 237-3224 FAX (515) 237-3354

Louisiana Public Service Commission
P.O. Box 91154

Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9154

(888) 342-5717 FAX (225) 342-1402

Michigan Public Service Commission
Motor Carrier

6545 Mercantile Way, Suite 1

Lansing, Ml 48911

(517) 241-6030 FAX (517) 241-8219

Nebraska Department of Motor Vehicles
301 Centennial Mall South

P.O. Box 94729

Lincoln, NE 68509

(888) 622-1222  FAX (402) 471-4024

New York State Department of
Transportation

50 Wolf Road, POD 53

Colonie, NY 12232

(518) 457-1017 FAX (518) 485-1293

Oklahoma Corporation Commission
Transportation Division

P.O. Box 52000

Oklahoma City, OK 73152-2000

(405) 521-2251 FAX (405) 521-2916

South Dakota Dept. of Revenue &
Regulation

Division of Motor Vehicles-UCR Program
445 East Capitol Ave.

Pierre, SD 57501-3185

(605) 773-3314 FAX (605) 773-4117

Utah Dept. of Transportation

Motor Carrier Division

4501 S., 2700 West, P.O. Box 148240
Salt Lake City, UT 84114-8240

(801) 965-3871 FAX (801) 965-4265

West Virginia Public Service Commission
Motor Carrier-UCR

201 Brooks Street

PO Box 812

Charleston, West Virginia 25323

(304) 340-0427 FAX (304) 340-0394



