
STATE OF RHODE ISLAND AND PROVIDENCE PLANTATIONS 
DIVISION OF PUBLIC UTILITIES AND CARRIERS 
89 JEFFERSON BOULEVARD, WARWICK, RI 02888 

TELEPHONE (401) 941-4500 
 

APPLICATION TO OPERATE A TAXICAB OR 
LIMITED PUBLIC MOTOR VEHICLE OR 

PUBLIC MOTOR VEHICLE 
 The individual listed below hereby makes application to the Division of Public Utilities 
 And carriers to operate a taxicab or limited public motor vehicle or public motor vehicle as an employee, 
 partner or lessee: 
 
NAME: _____________________________________ DATE: ______________________ 
 
DATE OF BIRTH: ___________________ PHONE: _____________________________ 
 
SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER: _____________________________________________ 
 
HOME ADDRESS: ________________________________________________________ 
 
CITY: _________________________ ST: ________ ZIP: _________________________ 
 
DRIVER’S LICENSE No: ____________________ *CLASS: _____________________ 
 
Please list all states that you have resided in for the last ten years:  ______________ 
____________________________________________________ 
 
Do you have a local or state criminal record outside the State of Rhode Island? 
Yes ____  No _____ 
 
Do you have a federal criminal record?  Yes ____ No ____ 
(If yes, please outline the criminal record on a separate sheet of paper.) 
 
Are you a U.S. Citizen?  Yes________   No________(If no, please provide proof of legal resident status.) 
 
Employer:_____________________________________________________________ 
 
Signature of Applicant 
 

 
Please Note:  Along with this application you must attach an original certified copy of your 
 Driving Record and Criminal Background Record.  Copies must be dated 
 within 30 days of the filing of your application. Only records obtained from these agencies  
are accepted.   * CDL or Class 10 license with an “R” restriction required. 
 
Obtain Certified Driving Record From: Obtain Criminal Background Check From: 

Registry of Motor Vehicles,  
OPERATOR CONTROL SECTION 
 

AG's Office 

600 New London Avenue 150 South Main St. 
Cranston, RI  02920 Providence, RI 02903 
(401) 462-0800 (401) 421-5268 
Fee:  $17.50 Fee:  $5.00 Check or Money Order Only 

 
For Office Use Only 

 
BCI Report Date: ____________  DMV Report Date: _____________ 
Date Of Review: _____________   Approved: _____ Disapproved: _____(see letter of explanation) 
 
CI initials____________    Hackney #_________________________ 
 
Filename: Taxiapp.rev.  9/1/2010                         DISCLOSURE STATEMENT ON BACK 
 



SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER PRIVACY DISCLOSURE STATEMENT

Providing your Social Security Number to the Division is not mandatory. You may legally refuse to 
comply with this request. Whether you agree to disclose your Social Security Number is entirely a 
voluntary decision. 

The Division is charged with the responsibility of determining whether you are “fit” before it is able to 
grant you the authority being requested through the instant application. The basis of this requirement 
is contained in the following Sections of the Rhode Island General Laws: §39-1-1, §39-1-15, §39-1-38,  
§39-3-2, §39-12-4, §39-12-5, §39-12-7, §39-12-32, §39-13-2, §39-14-2, §39-14-4.1, § 39-14-12, §39-14-14, 
§39-14-20, §39-14.1-3 and §39-14.1-8. 

The Division has requested that you provide it with your Social Security Number so that it may better 
evaluate your “fitness” with regard to the regulatory authority you seek. The “fitness” evaluation 
includes a criminal background and a legal residency investigation. The Division may also employ 
other means to conduct the fitness evaluation. Providing your Social Security Number to the Division 
will help expedite the evaluation process. 

Your Social Security Number will also be used as a unique internal identifying number. 

SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBERS WILL NOT BE OPEN FOR PUBLIC INSPECTION.


