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 This agreement is entered into by and between the Division of Public Utilities and Carriers (hereinafter 

“Division”) and all certificated towing companies wishing to adopt the rates, terms and conditions contained 

herein.  It is the intent of this agreement to establish an interim set of rates, terms and conditions to be effective 

from the date of the Division Order adopting the same, until the Division completes a thorough and 

comprehensive study (“the Study”) of the non-consensual towing industry within Rhode Island and establishes 

and adopts an adequate uniform rate design. All parties understand and acknowledge that the Division has 

engaged a qualified consultant to complete the aforementioned study and provide the Division with sound 

recommendations regarding rates and other essential aspects of the non-consensual towing industry. 

1. The Division is the public body of the State of Rhode Island charged with regulating tow-away motor 

vehicle operations pursuant to R.I. Gen. Laws §§ 39-12-1 et seq. and 39-12.1-1 et seq.  

2. This agreement is intended to set interim rates for non-consensual tows of light duty (8,000 lbs. and 

less gross vehicle weight) and medium duty (8,001 lbs. – 15,000 lbs. gross vehicle weight) vehicles, 

incidental charges, and storage in connection with those tows conducted by any and all tow companies 

adopting these rates.  The rates and provisions set forth herein shall be binding upon the parties until 

the completion of the aforementioned Study.  During that interim period, each tow company that avails 

itself of these interim rates shall not file any additional or amended tariff pursuant to R.I. Gen. Laws 

§§ 39-12-11 through 39-12-14 that are in variance with these rates, unless as provided in Item 5 of this 

agreement. Note: The parties agree that if the Study is not completed by December 31, 2018, any tow 

company that has adopted these interim rates shall be free to file an additional or amended tariff for 

its towing operation pursuant to R.I. Gen. Laws §§ 39-12-11 through 39-12-14. The parties also 

acknowledge that these interim rates will have no impact on the outcome of the Study or future rates. 



 

3. The rates for non-consensual towing services in the State of Rhode Island for all light-duty and 

medium-duty non-consensual tows performed by this tower are as follows: 

A. Vehicles 8,000 lbs Gross Vehicle Weight and Under subject to Non-Consensual Police-

Ordered Tows and Non-Consensual Private Property Tows: 

 

i. Vehicle towed back to tow company’s lot: One hundred, twenty dollars ($120.00) 

flat fee per tow inclusive of all incidental charges, the first five (5) miles of on-hook 

mileage, the first hour of site work, and the first 24 hours of storage when a vehicle 

is towed to the tow company’s storage lot. For each on-hook mile encountered after 

the five such miles contemplated in the preceding sentence from the scene of the 

tow to the tower’s storage lot, the tower shall be authorized to charge three dollars 

($3.00). If such a tow requires additional time on the scene, the tow company may 

assess an additional fee of one hundred dollars ($100.00) per additional hour, billed 

in fifteen (15) minute increments. Storage rates after the first 24 hours shall be 

calculated in accordance with Section 4-F below;  

 

a. Release of vehicle at the scene of a requested private property 

trespass tow: In the event that the vehicle owner (or person in control 

of the vehicle at the time in question) arrives on the scene and agrees to 

remove the vehicle in question from the parcel of private property, the 

tow company shall be authorized to charge the vehicle owner (or person 

in control of the vehicle at the time in question) a flat fee of sixty dollars 

($60.00), provided, however, that the tow company has already secured 

the vehicle (on-hook or on the back of a flatbed) for tow. 

 

ii. Vehicle towed to a site directed by owner/driver: One hundred dollars ($100.00) 

flat fee per tow inclusive of all incidental charges, the first hour of site work, plus 

four dollars ($4.00) per mile from the scene of the tow when a vehicle is towed and 

delivered to a site other than the tower’s storage lot as directed by the vehicle owner 

(or person in control of the vehicle at the time of the tow). If such a tow requires 

additional time on the scene, the tow company may assess an additional fee of one 

hundred dollars ($100.00) per additional hour, billed in fifteen (15) minute 

increments. 

 

iii. Extra Man Required: When an extra man is required at an accident scene or 

recovery of a vehicle in this weight category, the tower is authorized to charge a 

rate of $65.00 per hour. 

 

iv. On-Hook Mileage charges: In instances regarding on-hook mileage charges 

outlined in Subsection 4-A (i) and Subsection 4-A (ii) above, the tow slip must list 

both the tow truck’s beginning odometer reading when the towed vehicle is secured 

(on-hook or on the back of a flatbed) and the ending odometer reading when the 

vehicle is delivered to the tower’s lot (when mileage charges are authorized) or the 



destination directed by the vehicle owner (or person in control of the vehicle at the 

time of the tow).  

 

v. Towing of Motorcycles: An additional charge of twenty-five dollars ($25.00) shall 

apply when the tow company must tow and relocate a motorcycle in either of the 

services outlined in Subsections 4-A(i) and 4-A(ii). 

 

B. Vehicles 8,001 lbs. Through 15,000 lbs. Gross Vehicle Weight subject to Non-Consensual 

Police-Ordered Tows and Non-Consensual Private Property Tows:  

 

i. Vehicle towed back to tow company’s lot: One hundred, forty dollars ($140.00) 

flat fee per tow inclusive of all incidental charges and the first 24 hours of storage 

when a vehicle is towed to the tow company’s storage lot, provided, however, that 

the tow is effectuated within one hour of arriving on the scene. If such a tow 

requires additional time on the scene, the tow company may assess an additional 

fee of one hundred, twenty dollars ($120.00) per additional hour, billed in fifteen 

(15) minute increments. Storage rates after the first 24 hours shall be calculated in 

accordance with Section 4-F below; 

 

ii. Vehicle towed to a site directed by owner/driver: One hundred, twenty dollars 

($120.00) flat fee per tow inclusive of all incidental charges, plus four dollars 

($4.00) per mile from the scene of the tow to the site selected by the vehicle owner 

(or person in control of the vehicle), provided, however, that the tow is effectuated 

within one hour of arriving on the scene. If such a tow requires additional time on 

the scene, the tow company may assess an additional fee of one hundred, twenty 

dollars ($120.00) per additional hour, billed in fifteen (15) minute increments. 

Storage rates after the first 24 hours shall be calculated in accordance with Section 

4-F below; 

 

iii. Extra Man: When an extra man is required at an accident scene or recovery of a 

vehicle in this weight category, the tower is authorized to charge a rate of $65.00 

per hour.  

 

iv. On-Hook Mileage Charges: In instances outlined in Subsection 4-B (iii) above, 

the tow slip must list both the tow truck’s odometer reading when the vehicle is 

secured (on-hook or on the back of a flatbed) and the odometer reading when the 

vehicle is delivered as directed by the vehicle owner (or person in control of the 

vehicle at the time of the tow).  

 

v. NOTE:  Tariff rates are built on the assumption that the tower uses vehicles and 

equipment that are appropriate for the tow and/or recovery being performed – 

that is, vehicles and equipment that can perform the tow safely.  Using light-duty 

tow trucks or equipment for a medium duty tow presents public safety issues and, 

accordingly, shall not be sanctioned by the DPUC.  Therefore, no tower may 

charge for a medium-duty tow unless that tower uses a tow truck rated for towing 

at least the Gross Vehicle Rate of the vehicle actually being towed.  
 



 

 

C. After-Hours Release Charge for Vehicles Subjected to Police-Ordered Tows:   

 

i. Towers are required to release vehicles to the owner or lien holder, or their designee, 

upon demand and upon presentation of the appropriately accrued towing charges, 

regardless of the type of vehicle towed.  

 

ii. However, a patron who chooses to retrieve his/her vehicle outside of the tower’s 

normal business hours may be charged an additional after-hours release fee of twenty 

dollars ($20.00).   

 

iii. This “after-hours release’ charge applies only if the tower’s normal business hours 

are, for the purpose of this charge, at a minimum from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. Monday 

through Friday, and 8:00 a.m. through 12 p.m. on Saturday.  The after-hours release 

fee may properly be assessed for vehicle retrieval at any time on Sundays and all 

legal holidays. 

 

iv. This charge is intended to compensate the tower for the expense of requiring an 

employee of the tower to return to the storage facility after normal business hours to 

release a vehicle.  Accordingly, if this tower has employees on site for extended 

hours, it shall not impose this charge, nor shall it impose this charge if it has an 

employee already at the tow yard when the customer first appears to request the 

release of a vehicle.  

 

 

D. Ancillary fees associated with non-consensual tows: 

 

i. TOLL CHARGES: Tow companies may collect the actual road and/or bridge toll 

charges incurred by the tow company only when the vehicle is in tow and being 

transported to the tower’s lot or a destination selected by the vehicle owner or 

person in control of said vehicle at the time of the tow. Note: tower may not collect 

toll charges incurred on the way to the scene of the tow or for those incurred after 

the vehicle has been delivered to the tower’s lot or a site selected by the vehicle 

owner.  

ii. Section F-i requires tow companies to accept multiple forms of payment. 

Accordingly, if a tower accepts payment by credit card or debit card, the tower may 

pass-through the credit card processing fee to the consumer, not to exceed three 

percent (3%) of the total tariff charges. 

  



E. Storage Charges:  

i. Vehicles up to 20 feet in length:  Storage fees shall be calculated in the following 

manner with the word “day” meaning 24-hour period from the time the vehicle is 

delivered to the tow company’s storage lot: 

 

a. Storage beyond “Day 1”: The all-inclusive tow fee outlined in Section 4-A(i) 

and 4-B(i) provides for the first 24 hours of storage at no charge. Accordingly, 

storage fees of thirty dollars ($30.00) shall accrue for each 24-hour period after 

the initial 24-hour period. 

 

ii. Vehicles More Than 20 Feet Long:  Storage fees shall be calculated in the following 

manner with the word “day” meaning 24-hour period from the time the vehicle is 

delivered to the tow company’s storage lot: 

 

a. First Storage beyond “Day 1”: The all-inclusive tow fee outlined in 

Section 4-A(i) and 4-B(i) provides for the first 24 hours of storage at no 

charge. Accordingly, storage fees of forty dollars ($40.00) shall accrue for 

each 24-hour period after the initial 24-hour period.  

 

NOTE 1: Storage fees will not accrue after the seventh (7th) calendar day with respect to 

the owner of a vehicle unless the tower has notified the vehicle owner as required by State 

law and the Division’s regulations.  Storage fees will not accrue after the fourteenth (14th) 

calendar day with respect to the lien holder of a vehicle unless the tower has notified the 

lien holder as required by State law and the Division’s regulations. 

NOTE 2: Storage charges may only be imposed if the tower has appropriate storage 

facilities:  Thus, tower may not charge storage fees in any manner or for any amount for 

any vehicle unless that vehicle is secured in a locked, adequately fenced and adequately 

lighted lot, or inside a locked building. The Division reserves the right to determine the 

“adequacy” of both fencing and lighting relative to this provision.  

F. Acceptable Forms of Payment for Towing Services:  

 

i. The tower shall accept cash as payment for towing services as well as at least one 

other form of payment, such as credit cards/debit cards, or personal checks. For 

this purpose, the Division considers Money Orders, Travelers Checks and Certified 

Bank Checks to be the equivalent of “cash” and, thus, does not consider acceptance 

of Money Orders, Travelers Checks and Certified Bank Checks to satisfy the 

requirement for accepting a “second” form of payment in addition to “cash.” 
Moreover, if the tower chooses to accept credit cards/debit cards as a form of 
payment, the tower shall ensure that a vehicle owner is able to complete such a 
payment transaction regardless of the ultimate delivery site of the vehicle.   

  



G. Consumer Informational Card:  

 

i. The tower shall present to the driver (or, in the alternative, an adult passenger) of a 

vehicle about to be towed by order of the police an informational card explaining 

the rights of the vehicle owner/driver relative to his/her selection of a site to where 

the vehicle may be towed and an explanation of the mileage charges and storage 

rate calculation method. (Provided, however, that the tower shall not be required to 

provide such a card to a driver who is not safely and readily able to accept same 

[i.e.: injured or in police custody], and no adult passenger is on scene to accept 

delivery of such card and make a selection on the driver’s behalf.) The Division 

shall produce a prototype for such a card and the tower shall have said cards 

reproduced unchanged (in sufficient quantities) at its expense.  Note: The tower 

may print its business name, address, telephone number and MC number atop such 

card for identifying purposes. 

 

4. Miscellaneous Terms and Conditions 

a. “Person in Control,” as used in this tariff, shall mean the person who was operating the 

vehicle immediately prior to the police-ordered non-consensual tow. 

 

b. Police impounds and related towing -  On December 6, 2010, the Division issued a 

Declaratory Ruling wherein it held: “that the vehicle owner cannot be held responsible for the 

‘involuntary’ storage fees resulting from police department ‘holds’ imposed on vehicles 

resulting from non-consensual police department instigated tows.”  In this ruling, the Division 

also held “that certificated towers may not hold these vehicles against the wishes of their 

owners, and must release these vehicles to their owners upon demand and after all appropriate 

fees have been paid.”  On the definition of “appropriate” fees, the Division provided the 

following interpretation: “‘[a]ppropriate’ fees, in cases of non-consensual police department-

instigated tows, shall constitute the charge for the tow service required to “remove” the vehicle 

from the public roadway, an after-hours release fee (when applicable and effectuated), and all 

storage time linked to retrieval delays directly caused by the vehicle owner (or lienholder).” 

(See Order No. 20200).  Predicated on this ruling, towers may not charge the vehicle owner 

for any storage time associated with a police-ordered impound of the vehicle.   

Based on the same regulatory rationale, the tower is similarly prohibited from charging the 

vehicle owner for any towing services directed by a police department that results in the vehicle 

being transported to a location other than the tower’s storage lot (unless, that alternative 

location is specifically selected by the vehicle’s owner or operator, pursuant to applicable 

Rhode Island law), or for any other police department requested services not specifically 

authorized under this tariff.   

 



c. Updated Tow Slip: The tower shall provide for Division approval a sample tow slip 

containing sufficient space/layout for the rates, terms and conditions set forth in this agreement 

in accordance with Rule 9(b) of the Division’s Rules and Regulations Governing 

Transportation Provided by Motor Carriers of Property. 

 

5. This agreement shall be effective as of the date of the Division Report and Order formally approving 

and adopting this settlement agreement. Moreover, the parties agree that in the event of any 

“exogenous” event (such as a change in federal/state law or Division regulation) that results in the 

imposition of additional charges on towers performing non-consensual tows, this tower shall not be 

precluded from seeking to negotiate with the Division a reasonable increase in rates to the extent 

necessary to recover for the exogenous event.  

 

 

 

 

 

  



 

 

 

 

STATE OF RHODE ISLAND, DIVISION OF 

PUBLIC UTILITIES AND CARRIERS 

  

By signing this instant Agreement, the 

undersigned towing company agrees to the 

rates, terms and conditions, contained herein. 

   

Dated:  ______________   

  

  

Christy Hetherington, Esq. 

For the Advocacy Section 

 

 

D 

       _____________________________________ 

      Authorized tow company 

      principal/representative 

  

Dated:  ______________ 



Additional Signatories to Settlement Agreement Within Above-Referenced Docket: 

 

Certificate Holder      MC   Authorized        Date  

  Official Name    Number   Signature 
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