## STATE OF RHODE ISLAND PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION

## IN RE: THE NARRAGANSETT ELECTRIC CO. d/b/a RHODE ISLAND ENERGY 2023 ANNUAL RETAIL RATE FILING – DOCKET NO. 23-03-EL 2023 RENEWABLE ENERGY STANDARD CHARGE - DOCKET NO. 22-43-EL LAST RESORT SERVICE RATES – DOCKET NOS. 23-01-EL and 4978

## **NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING**

Pursuant to the provisions of R.I. Gen. Laws §39-3-11, as amended, the Public Utilities Commission (PUC) is conducting a hearing on **Wednesday**, **March 22**, **2023 at 9:30 A.M.** in Hearing Room A at the PUC's office located at 89 Jefferson Boulevard, Warwick, Rhode Island. The hearing may continue thereafter from time to time as required. The hearing will be streamed live at <u>https://video.ibm.com/channel/WqQyXw296dg</u>

At this hearing, the PUC will examine proposals by the Narragansett Electric Co. d/b/a Rhode Island Energy submitted in the following dockets:

Docket No. 23-03-EL - 2023 Annual Retail Rate Filing – Rhode Island Energy proposed rate adjustments arising out of the Company's annual reconciliations of Last Resort Service (LRS), LRS administrative costs, the non-bypassable transition charge, transmission service, the transmission-related uncollectible expense, the Net Metering charge, and the Long Term Contracting (LTC) for Renewable Energy Recovery Factor. The reconciliation period for the various costs in this filing is January 2022 through December 2022. The combined effect of these rate changes on a typical residential LRS customer using 500 kWh per month is an increase of \$5.07 per month.

Docket No. 23-01-EL – Last Resort Service Rate Filing – Rhode Island Energy proposed base Last Resort Service (LRS) rates for the Residential Group for the period of April 1, 2023 through September 30, 2023; the Commercial Group for the period of April 1, 2023 through September 30, 2023; and the Industrial Group for the period of April 1, 2023 through June 30, 2023. The LRS rates are submitted pursuant to the Company's LRS Procurement Plan (Plan) which was approved by the PUC on July 23, 2020 in Docket No. 4978. The impact on a typical residential LRS customer using 500 kWh per month is a decrease of \$35.55 per month. This amount is inclusive of the reinstatement of the customer charge sought by the Company in Docket No. 4978.

Docket No. 4978 – Proposal to Recover Deferred Customer Charge – At an Open Meeting on September 23, 2022, the Commission directed the Company to defer the customer charge to mitigate the increased LRS during the winter season (October 2022 -March 2023). In this docket, Rhode Island Energy proposes to recover the deferred customer charge by doubling the customer charge during the period of April 1, 2023, through September 30, 2023. For customers in the A-16 (Basic Residential Rate) and A-60 (Low Income Rate) rate classes, the customer charge would be \$12 and for customers in the C-06 (Small Commercial and Industrial Rate) rate class, the customer charge would be \$20.

Docket No. 22-43-EL – 2023 Renewable Energy Standard (RES) Procurement Plan and RES Charge and Reconciliation Filing – In this docket, Rhode Island Energy submitted its RES Procurement Plan which includes methods and procedures for obtaining renewable energy resources that satisfy the Company's RES obligations and compliance with the legislative mandate requiring Rhode Island Energy to obtain 20.5% of its energy supply from a mix of new and existing renewable resources for calendar year 2023.

The Company also proposed to adjust the RES Charge for 2023 to (1) recover the estimated costs associated with the 2023 RES obligation year, (2) credit customers the estimated over-recovery of costs for the 2022 RES compliance year; and (3) recover from customers the final under-recovery of costs to prior RES compliance years through 2021. The impact on a typical residential LRS customer using 500 kWh per month is an increase of \$0.58 per month.

The proposals are available for examination at the PUC's office. The filings can also be accessed at <u>http://www.ripuc.ri.gov/</u> under the Docket Menu, Docket No. 23-01-EL, Docket No. 23-03-EL, Docket No. 22-43-EL and Docket No. 4978. Reference is made to Chapters 39-1, 39-3 and 42-35 of the Rhode Island General Laws.

The PUC is accessible to the handicapped. Individuals requesting interpreter services for the hearing impaired must notify the Commission Clerk's office at 780-2107, seventy-two hours in advance of hearing.

Luly E. Massaro, Commission Clerk March 13, 2023