STATE OF RHODE ISLAND PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION

IN RE: FILINGS BY THE PASCOAG UTILITY DISTRICT 2021 DEMAND SIDE MANAGEMENT PROGRAMS - DOCKET NO. 5084 ANNUAL RECONCILIATION RATE FILING - DOCKET NO. 5083

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING

Pursuant to the R.I. Gen. Laws §39-3-11, as amended, the Public Utilities Commission (PUC) will conduct a public hearing on **Thursday, December 17, 2020 at 9:30** A.M. to examine proposals submitted by the Pascoag Utility District in the above captioned matter. The hearing will be held in Hearing Room A, at the PUC's office located at 89 Jefferson Boulevard, Warwick, Rhode Island. The hearings will be streamed live at <u>http://www.ustream.tv/channel/WqQyXw296dg</u>.

People interested in providing public comment at the meeting may participate in a Zoom meeting through the internet or by calling in, preferably 5-10 minutes prior to the hearing. To participate, click this link <u>https://us02web.zoom.us/j/889 8177 8824</u> and you will be given instructions to enter the meeting by internet. If you choose to participate by telephone, you may call 929-205-6099 and enter meeting number 889 8177 8824 followed by the # symbol when prompted. If you are not interested in providing public comment, please watch the live stream at the address in the first paragraph. You will be able to observe the hearing and hear others' public comment.

In Docket 5084, Pascoag Utility filed for approval of its proposed 2021 Demand Side Management Program (DSM) with an overall budget of \$239,962 to implement energy efficiency programs and renewable energy resources targeted at different classes of residential, commercial and industrial customers. The budget includes the continuation of the legislative mandated charge of \$0.0023 per kWh, pursuant to R.I. Gen. Laws §39-2-1.2(b), for application in the billing months of January 2021 through December 2021 to fund the DSM programs (of which \$0.002 supports DSM and \$0.0003 supports the Renewable Energy Development Fund). The DSM charge represents a monthly charge of \$1.15 on a typical residential customer using 500 kWh per month.

In Docket No. 5083, Pascoag Utility District filed to implement rate changes arising out of the reconciliation of its tariff adjustment provisions for the Standard Offer Service Rate, Transition Service Charge and Transmission Service Charge effective for consumption January 1, 2021. Specifically, Pascoag seeks to implement the following rate changes: 1) to decrease the Standard Offer Service Rate from \$0.06672 per kWh to \$0.06273 per kWh, 2) to decrease the Transition Service Charge from \$0.00010 per kWh to \$0.00000 per kWh, 3) to increase the Transmission Service Charge from \$0.03170 per kWh to \$0.03687 per kWh, and 4) to decrease the Purchase Power Restricted Fund credit from (\$0.00279) to (\$0.00129). The combined net impact of the proposed rate changes on a typical residential bill using 500 kWh per month would result in an increase of \$1.29 or 1.7% from \$74.63 to \$75.92. In this docket, the PUC also undertakes a review of Pascoag Utility's 2021 supply procurement portfolio pursuant to R.I. Gen. Laws §39-1-27.8.

The filings may be examined at the PUC's office by appointment. The filings can also be accessed at <u>http://www.ripuc.ri.gov/eventsactions/docket.html</u>, Docket 5084 and Docket 5083. Reference is made to Chapters 39-1, 39-3 and 42-35 of the Rhode Island General Laws.

The PUC is accessible to the handicapped. Individuals requesting interpreter services for the hearing impaired must notify the Commission Clerk's office at 401-780-2107, seventy-two hours in advance of hearing date.

Luly E. Massaro, Commission Clerk December 7, 2020