STATE OF RHODE ISLAND AND PROVIDENCE PLANTATIONS
PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION

IN RE: THE NARRAGANSETT ELECTRIC :

COMPANY d/b/a NATIONAL GRID REVIEW : DOCKET NO. 5011
OF PROPOSED POWER PURCHASE AGREEMENT

PURSUANT TO R.I. GEN. LAWS § 39-26.1

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING

Pursuant to the provisions of R.I. Gen. Laws § 39-1 et seq., the Public Utilities Commission
(PUC) will conduct a hearing on Friday, March 27, 2020 @ 10:00 A.M. in Hearing Room A of
the PUC’s office located at 89 Jefferson Boulevard, Warwick, Rhode Island. The hearing may
continue thereafter from day to day and time to time as required. The hearing will be streamed
live at http://www.ustream.tv/channel/WqQyXw296dg.

In this docket, the PUC will examine the propriety of a Purchase Power Agreement (PPA)
entered into by and between The Narragansett Electric Co. d/b/a National Grid with Gravel Pit
Solar II, LLC (Gravel Pit) for review and approval under Long-Term Contracting Standard for
Renewable Energy, R.I. Gen. Laws 39-26.1.1. et seq. National Grid seeks review and approval of
a twenty-year PPA under which National Grid will purchase 99 percent of the energy and
environmental attributes associated with Gravel Pit’s 50 MW solar facility. The fixed contract
price for energy and renewable energy certificates is $52.95 per MWh over the entire term of the
PPA. Pursuant to law, the PUC may approve the PPA if it is found to be commercially reasonable;
the requirements for the solicitation are met; and the pricing under the PPA is forecasted to be
below the forecast market price of energy and renewable energy certificates over the term of the
proposed contract.

The docket is available for examination at the PUC’s office. The docket can also be
accessed at http://www.ripuc.org/eventsactions/docket/5011page.html. Reference is made to
Chapters 39-1, 39-3 and 42-35 of the Rhode Island General Laws.

The PUC is accessible to the handicapped. Individuals requesting interpreter services for
the hearing impaired must notify the Commission Clerk’s office at 780-2017, seventy-two hours
in advance of hearing date.

Luly E. Massaro
Commission Clerk
March 13, 2020



