
STATE OF RHODE ISLAND AND PROVIDENCE PLANTATIONS 

PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION 

 
IN RE:  PASCOAG UTILITY DISTRICT   :                                       
2018 ANNUAL RECONCILIATION RATE FILING         :          DOCKET NO. 4762 
2018 DEMAND SIDE MANAGEMENT PROGRAMS     :          DOCKET NO. 4761 

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING 

Pursuant to the provisions of R.I. Gen. Laws §39-3-11, as amended, the Public Utilities 
Commission (PUC) will conduct a hearing on Tuesday, December 19, 2017 at 9:30 A.M. in Hearing 
Room A of the PUC’s office located at 89 Jefferson Boulevard, Warwick, Rhode Island.   

 
At this hearing, the PUC will examine the propriety of two filings submitted by the Pascoag 

Utility District.  In Docket No. 4762, Pascoag Utility District seeks approval to reconcile its tariff 
adjustment provisions for the Standard Offer Service Rate, Transition Service Charge and 
Transmission Service Charge effective for consumption January 1, 2018.  Specifically, Pascoag seeks 
to implement the following rate changes:  1) to increase the Standard Offer Service Rate from 
$0.05850 per kWh to $0.07166 per kWh, 2) to decrease the Transition Service Charge from $0.01023 
per kWh to $0.00040 per kWh, 3) to decrease the Transmission Service Charge from $0.03200 per 
kWh to $0.02973 per kWh, and 4) to decrease the Purchase Power Restricted Fund credit from 
($0.00667) to ($0.00467).  The combined net impact of the proposed rate changes on a typical 
residential bill using 500 kWh per month would result in an increase of $1.52 or 2.1% from $73.79 
to $75.31.  The PUC can approve different rates that may be higher or lower than those proposed by 
Pascoag.  The PUC will also undertake a review of Pascoag’s 2018 supply procurement portfolio 
pursuant to R.I. Gen. Laws §39-1-27.8. 

In Docket 4761, Pascoag seeks approval of its proposed 2018 Demand Side Management 
Program (DSM) with an overall budget of $132,827 to implement energy efficiency programs and 
renewable energy resources targeted at different classes of residential, commercial and industrial 
customers.  The budget includes the continuation of the legislative mandated charge of $0.0023 per 
kWh, pursuant to R.I. Gen. Laws §39-2-1.2(b), for application in the billing months of January 2018 
through December 2018 to fund the DSM programs.  The DSM charge represents a monthly charge 
of $1.00 on a typical residential customer using 500 kWh per month.     

The PUC may rule immediately at the conclusion of the hearing.  The filings may be examined 
at the PUC’s office.  The filings can also be accessed under the PUC’s Docket Menu at 
www.ripuc.org, Docket No. 4762 and Docket No. 4761.  Reference is made to Chapters 39-1, 39-3 
and 42-35 of the Rhode Island General Laws.  

The PUC is accessible to the handicapped.  Individuals requesting interpreter services for the 
hearing impaired must notify the Commission Clerk’s office at 401-780-2107, seventy-two hours in 
advance of hearing date. 

Luly E.  Massaro, Commission Clerk 
December 9, 2017 
 


