Mary B. Shekarchi
Attorney at Law

33 College Hill Road, Suite 15-E Phone: (401) 828-5030

Warwick, Rhode Island 02886 Fax: (401) 823-1400

_ E-Mail: marybali@aol.com
April 17, 2020

Ms. Luly Massaro, Clerk

RI Public Utilities Commission
89 Jefferson Blvd.

Warwick, Rl 02888

RE:  Kent County Water Authority — Docket No. 4641
Dear Ms. Massaro:
Please find enclosed herewith Kent Cou nty Water Authority’s Petition for Waiver. An

electronic copy has been provided to the service list and the original has been mailed to you.
Should you have any questions, please contact me. Thank you.

{
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MBS/mdc
Enclosure

Cc: (via electronic mail)

Atty. Cynthia Wilson Frias
Atty. Tiffany Parenteau
Atty. Christy Hetherington
Mr. David L Simmons, P.E.
Mr. David Bebyn, CPA



STATE OF RHODE ISLAND AND PROVIDENCE PLANTATIONS
PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION

IN RE: KENT COUNTY WATER AUTHORITY
Docket No. 4641

KENT COUNTY WATER AUTHORITY’S PETITION FOR WAIVER

Pursuant to the Rl Public Utilities Commission Rules of Practice and Procedure Rule 1.11
(“Rules”), the Kent County Water Authority (“KCWA”) hereby requests, the Rhode Island Public
Utilities Commission (“Commission”) allow KCWA to immediately waive its Tariff Charge for
Interest on Delinquent Accounts due to the State of Rhode Island’s declaration of a state of
emergency in response to the COVID-19 virus for the reasons stated in this Commission’s Order
in Docket # 5022. Specifically, KCWA Tariff states that:

“Interest on Delinquent Accounts Applicable to all water account balances over 30 days

from the billing date. Interest charges are payable as incurred.

CHARGE: 1.5% per month on unpaid balances.” (See attached Tariff )

KCWA requests that this waiver be granted for duration of this Commission’s Order in
Docket No. 5022, including any extension. Therefore, KCWA respectfully requests that the

Commission grant the within petition for a waiver and any other relief it deems fair and just.

KENT COUNTY WATER AUTHORITY
By its attorney,

Dated: April 17, 2020 “)j ,)ﬁwﬂ /6(4&/{’(1 -

Mary E{ Shekarchi ( (#4767)

Attorney at Law

33 College Hill Rd., #15E

Warwick, RI 02886

Tel. # (401)828-5030

Fax# (401) 823-1400
marybali@aol.com




CERTIFICATION OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that on this 17" day of April, 2020

Parties listed below.

Division of Public Utilities (Division)

Tiffany A. Parenteau, Esq.
Christy Heatherington, Esq.
RI Dept of Attorney General
150 South Main Street
Providence, RI 02903

Public Utilities Commission
Cynthia Wilson Frias, Esq.

RI Public Utilities Commission
89 Jefferson Blvd.

Warwick, Rl 02888

Kent County Water Authority
David L. Simmons, P.E.

Executive Director/Chief Engineer
Kent County Water Authority
1072 Main Street; PO Box 192
West Warwick, RI 02893

Mr. David Bebyn, CPA
B& E Consulting LLC
21 Dryden Lane
Providence, Rl 02904

wlio)t

tparenteau@riag.ri.gov
chetherington@riag.ri.gov

Cynthia.wilsonfrias@puc.ri.gov

dsimmons@kentcountywater.org

dbebyn@gmail.com

, I sent a copy of the within to the
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KENT COUNTY WATER AUTHORITY
RATE SCHEDULE

Page 1
KCWA PUC DOCKET# 4644
EFFECTIVE: 111/2018

METER SALES VOLUME:
——=2=2ALES VOLUME:
Applicable to a|| metered water in the Kent County system for residential, commercia) and industrial consumption
Rates Rate Per
100 cu. ft

Small (5/8" tg 2" meters) $6.161

Medium (3" to 4" meters) $4.913

Large (8" meters and up) $4.475

Terms of payment:

METERED SALES SERVICE CHARGE:
- ——=—=29ERVICE CHARGE:

Applicabie to alj metered sales of Customers of Kent County Water Authority exclusive of fire service Connections,

Rates: Meter Size (in) Quarterly Accounts Menthly Accounts
5/8 & 3/4 $15.41 $11.22
1 $20.42 $12.89
1% $29.48 $16.03
2 $37.99 $18.75
3 $ 48,67 $22.31
4 $69.37 $29.21
6 $115.19 $44. 48
8 &up $194.89 $71.05

Terms of Payment:

All customer service charges are billed Quarterly or monthly in advance, and are due and payable in full when rendered.

PUBLIC FIRE SERVICE:
———=< T RE SERVICE:

Applicable for service fo public fire hydrants in the Kent County service area,

Rates: Quarterly

Hydrant $183.69 hydrant

Plus $ 9.13/illing g
Terms of Payment- \

Rates: Service Size (in ) Quarterly Accounts
4 $76.35
6 $204.38
8 $42523
10 $757.42
12 $1271.84

hydrant $204.38




Terms of Payment:

All bills for private fire services are rendered quarterly in advance and are due and payable in full when rendered

OTHER CHARGES

WHOLESALE RATE WARWICK WATER DEPARTMENT: Same rate as charged by Providence Water Supply Board.
Rate will change upon changes to Providence Water Supply Board wholesale rate charge.

INTEREST ON DELINQUENT ACCOUNTS: Applicable to all water account balances over 30 days from billing date.
Interest charges are payable as incurred.

CHARGE: 1.5% per month on unpaid balances.
TURN OFF CHARGE: Applicable to all services turned off due to a specific violation which resulted in the requirement to

terminate service and requests prior to 8:00 a.m. and after 3:00 p.m., Monday thru Friday and all day Saturday, Sunday,
and any Holiday. Charges payable in full prior to subsequent turn-on.

CHARGE: $55.00 per occurrence

JURN ON CHARGE: Applicable to all services turned on after the interruption of a service due to a specific violation
which resulted in the service shut off and requests prior to 8:00 a.m. and after 3:00 p.m., Monday thru Friday and all day
Saturday, Sunday, and any Holiday. Charges payable in full prior to turn-on.

CHARGE: $45.00 per occurrence

INSTALLATION AND REPAIR WORK: Applicable to all installation and repair work.

CHARGE: Cost of all material, labor and equipment plus applicable overhead, as determined by the Kent
County Water Authority on a yearly basis, usually on July 1.

CHLORINATION CHARGE: Applicable to all main extensions to existing systems.

CHARGE: Cost of laboratory and labor to collect, transport to lab, flush and test sample, as determined
by the Kent County Water Authority on a yearly basis, usually on July 1.

MATERIAL PURCHASE: Applicable fo all material sales.

CHARGE: Cost of material plus handling and applicable overhead, as determined by the Kent County
Water Authority on a yearly basis, usually on July 1.

INSUFFICIENT FUND RETURNED CHECKS: Applicable to all payment checks returned to Kent County Water Authority
by our bank due to insufficient funds available or account problems will bear a charge for our handling and bank charges.

CHARGE: $20.00 Per occurrence.
METER TESTING: Applicable to all meter testing services. g
CHARGE: $100.00 Per occurrence.

INSPECTION FEE'S: Applicable to all developer installation work, public or private, in regards to all main or service
extensions.

CHARGE; $5.00/ft of instalied main or for service pipe from main to curb stop.

LEGAL FEE's: Applicable to all services requiring legal assistance by the Kent County Water Authority's legal counsel
including but not limited to easement description preparation or review, deed restriction preparation or review, involvement
with actions necessary for review or approvals of any water service request to the Authority.

CHARGE: Cost as billed to Kent County Water Authority by legal counsel on a monthly basis.

Terms Of Payment For All Other Charges: All bills rendered quarterly or monthly are due and payable in full when
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rendered.
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