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State of Rhode Island and Providence Plantations  

PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION 

RE: KENT COUNTY WATER AUTHORITY Docket No.   

NOTICE OF CHANGE IN RATE AND SCHEDULES TO KENT COUNTY WATER AUTHORITY 

CUSTOMERS 

Pursuant to Rhode Island General Laws (R.I.G.L.), Sections 39-3-11, and in accordance with Section 2.4 

of the Rules of Practice and Procedure of the Rhode Island Public Utilities Commission, the Kent County 

Water Authority (“KCWA”) hereby gives notice of a proposed change in rates filed and published in 

compliance with R.I.G.L. 39-3-10. 

In its filing, the KCWA seeks to implement a multi-year rate plan through a three step increase pursuant 

to R.I.G.L. § 39-15.1-4. In the first step of the increase, proposed to take effect on May 9, 2016 the 

KCWA’s proposed rates are designed to collect additional operating revenue in the amount of $3,296,334 

to support total operating revenue requirements of $23,023,351. The impact of this request for a typical 

residential customer who uses 2,000 cubic feet of water per quarter (166 gallons per day) will result in an 

increase of $14.61 per quarter or 12.7%. The impact of the proposed rate increase on other retail customer 

classes will be between -1.2% and 14.6%. Private Fire Service is from 72.2% to 74.9%. Public Fire 

Service Charge is an increase of 80.31% per hydrant. 

A separate Demand Surcharge is also proposed based on meter size. It will range on a quarterly basis 

from $3.06 to $163.80. 

In the second step of the increase proposed to take effect on July 1, 2017, the KCWA’s proposed rates are 

designed to collect additional operating revenue in the amount of $874,192 to support total operating 

revenue requirements of $23,574,422. The impact of this request will result in an across-the-board rate 

increase of approximately 3.85% on all rate classes. For a typical residential customer who uses 2,000 

cubic feet of water per quarter (166 gallons per day), the impact of this request will result in an increase 

of $5.00 per year. 

In the third step of the increase, proposed to take effect on July 1, 2018, the KCWA’s proposed rates are 

designed to collect additional operating revenue in the amount of $1,480,302 to support total operating 

revenue requirements of $25,054,724. The impact of this request will result in an across-the-board rate 

increase of approximately 6.28% on all rate classes. For a typical residential customer who uses 2,000 

cubic feet of water per quarter (166 gallons per day), the impact of this request will result in an increase 

of $8.47 per year. 

In accordance with R.I.G.L. § 39-15.1-3d KCWA has also included an alternative seasonal rate for the 

Commissions review and action. It will adjust the rates for the billing between July and September of 

each year based on a differential increase between 7.4% to 4.51% (based on meter size). The KCWA due 

to quarterly billing practice does not recommend acceptance of this rate alternative. 

As a proposal the KCWA has included and recommends an optional Public Fire Service Charge to be 

assumed and added to the Metered Sales Service Charge based on size of meter. The impact of the 
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proposed rate increase on the metered sales service charge with the assumption of the Public Fire Service 

Charge will result in a Service Charge increase of $29.11 per quarter or 25.2% for an average customer 

using 2,000 cubic feet per quarter (166 gallons per day). The impact of the proposed rate increase on other 

retail customer classes is between -0.7% to 30.9%. Public Fire Service charge will be $0.00 a decrease of 

100% and the Private Fire Service is from 72.2% to 74.9%. The step increase proposed of 3.85% for July 

1, 2017 and 6.28% for July 1, 2018 will remain the same. 

Three additional tariff charges are being proposed with this rate filing: 

 Meter Testing – cost applicable to all requested testing of meters is requested to be increased 

from $50.00 per occurrence to $100.00 per occurrence. 

 Billable Lost Water – cost applicable to lost water caused by ruptured mains, service pipes and 

other system actions by others established at the tariff rate of 5/8” to 2” metered water rate. 

 If Public Fire Service Charge is eliminated and assumed by the Metered Sales Service Charge, the 

cost of hydrant installation requested will be billed at cost to the requesting party. 

While the new rates requested under the first step of this increase are proposed to become effective May 

9, 2016, the Commission can suspend the rates up to eight months from the proposed effective date. No 

rate change will take effect until the Commission has conducted a full investigation and hearing on the 

proposal. The Commission will publish a notice of the hearing dates when they are scheduled. Ratepayers 

may comment on the proposed rate increases at that time.  

A copy of this filing is on file at our office at 1072 Main Street or on our website 

www.kentcountywater.org and at the Public Utilities Commission, 89 Jefferson Boulevard, Warwick, RI 

02889 and may be examined by the public during business hours. Also, copies are available at the public 

libraries and the cities and towns we service.  

 

 

Kent County Water Authority 

1072 Main Street 

West Warwick, RI 02893 

(401) 821-9300 

 

http://www.kentcountywater.org/


 KENT COUNTY WATER AUTHORITY 

RATE SCHEDULE 
WITH PUBLIC HYDRANT RATES 
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  KCWA PUC DOCKET#  

EFFECTIVE:   
 

METER SALES VOLUME:                      
 
Applicable to all metered water in the Kent County system for residential, commercial and industrial consumption. 
 

Rates:                      Rate Per 
             100 cu. ft.  

 
Small (5/8" to 2" meters)   $5.254     $5.580 
Medium (3" to 4" meters)   $4.476    $4.418 
Large (6" meters and up)   $3.816    $4.018 
 

Terms of payment: 
 
All metered sales bills are rendered quarterly or monthly and are due and payable in full when rendered. 

 

METERED SALES SERVICE CHARGE: 
 
Applicable to all metered sales of customers of Kent County Water Authority exclusive of fire service connections. 
 

Rates:  Meter Size (in)  Quarterly Accounts               Monthly Accounts 
 

  5/8 & 3/4 $10.26        $ 15.29   $7.51     $11.15 
      1  $13.57        $ 20.25       $8.61     $12.80 
      1 ½  $19.78        $ 29.56   $10.67     $15.91 
      2  $25.17        $ 37.63   $12.47     $18.60 
      3  $32.20        $ 48.18   $14.82     $22.11 
      4  $45.86        $ 68.66   $19.37     $28.94 
      6  $76.08        $ 113.97   $29.44     $44.04 
      8 &up $128.66         $ 192.80   $46.97       $70.32 

 

Terms of Payment: 
 
All customer service charges are billed quarterly or monthly in advance, and are due and payable in full when rendered. 
 

DEMAND SURCHARGE: 
 

Rates:  Meter Size (in)  Quarterly Accounts               Monthly Accounts 
 

  5/8 & 3/4         $ 3.06       $  1.02 
      1          $ 5.13           $  1.71 
      1 ½          $ 10.23       $  3.41 
      2          $ 16.38       $  5.46 
      3          $ 32.76       $10.92 
      4          $ 51.18       $17.06 
      6          $ 102.36       $34.12 
      8 &up             $ 163.80           $54.60 

 

Terms of Payment: 
 
All demand surcharges are billed quarterly or monthly in advance, and are due and payable in full when rendered.  
 

PUBLIC FIRE SERVICE: 
 
Applicable for service to public fire hydrants in the Kent County service area.   
 

Rates:              Quarterly 
 

Hydrant  $139.33        $251.22 hydrant 
Plus  $6.12/billing   $ 9.08/billing 
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Terms of Payment: 
 
All bills for public fire service are rendered quarterly in advance and are due payable in full when rendered.  
 

PRIVATE FIRE SERVICE: 
 
Applicable for service to private fire protection systems and private hydrants in the Kent County service area. 

 

Rates:      Service Size (in.)             Quarterly Accounts 
    

 4  $55.69     $ 95.89 
 6  $150.09     $261.25 
 8  $312.96     $546.47 
10  $557.88     $975.49 
12  $897.35     $1,570.10 

           hydrant  $150.09     $261.25 
 

Terms of Payment: 
 
All bills for private fire services are rendered quarterly in advance and are due and payable in full when rendered. 
 

 

OTHER CHARGES                                                                                                                                          

 

WHOLESALE RATE WARWICK WATER DEPARTMENT:  Same rate as charged by Providence Water Supply Board.  
Rate will change upon changes to Providence Water Supply Board wholesale rate charge. 
 

INTEREST ON DELINQUENT ACCOUNTS:  Applicable to all water account balances over 30 days from billing date.  
Interest charges are payable as incurred. 
 

CHARGE:  1.5% per month on unpaid balances. 

 

TURN OFF CHARGE:  Applicable to all services turned off due to a specific violation which resulted in the requirement to 
terminate service and requests prior to 8:00 a.m. and after 3:00 p.m., Monday thru Friday and all day Saturday, Sunday, 
and any Holiday.  Charges payable in full prior to subsequent turn-on. 
 

CHARGE:  $55.00 per occurrence 
 

TURN ON CHARGE:  Applicable to all services turned on after the interruption of a service due to a specific violation 
which resulted in the service shut off and requests prior to 8:00 a.m. and after 3:00 p.m., Monday thru Friday and all day 
Saturday, Sunday, and any Holiday.  Charges payable in full prior to turn-on. 
 

CHARGE:  $45.00 per occurrence 
 

INSTALLATION AND REPAIR WORK:  Applicable to all installation and repair work. 
 

CHARGE: Cost of all material, labor and equipment plus applicable overhead, as determined by the 
Kent County Water Authority on a yearly basis, usually on July 1. 

 

CHLORINATION CHARGE:  Applicable to all main extensions to existing systems. 
 

CHARGE: Cost of laboratory and labor to collect, transport to lab, flush and test sample, as determined 
by the Kent County Water Authority on a yearly basis, usually on July 1. 

 

MATERIAL PURCHASE:  Applicable to all material sales. 
 

CHARGE: Cost of material plus handling and applicable overhead, as determined by the Kent County 
Water Authority on a yearly basis, usually on July 1. 

 

INSUFFICIENT FUND RETURNED CHECKS:  Applicable to all payment checks returned to Kent County Water Authority 
by our bank due to insufficient funds available or account problems will bear a charge for our handling and bank charges. 
 

CHARGE: $20.00 Per occurrence. 
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METER TESTING:  Applicable to all meter testing services. 
 
 CHARGE: $50.00 $100.00 Per occurrence. 
 

INSPECTION FEE’S:  Applicable to all developer installation work, public or private, in regards to all main or service 
extensions. 
 
 CHARGE: $5.00/ft of installed main or for service pipe from main to curb stop. 
 

LEGAL FEE’s:  Applicable to all services requiring legal assistance by the Kent County Water Authority’s legal counsel 
including but not limited to easement description preparation or review, deed restriction preparation or review, 
involvement with actions necessary for review or approvals of any water service request to the Authority. 
 
 CHARGE: Cost as billed to Kent County Water Authority by legal counsel on a monthly basis. 
 

BILLABLE LOST WATER:  Applicable to all lost water caused by ruptured mains, service pipes or any and all ancillary 
appurtenances of the system by actions of others. Volume metered or estimated by the Authority due to non-metered lost 
water. 
 

CHARGE:   Billed at the rate established for the 5/8” to 2” metered volume rate per 100 cubic feet, 
metered or estimated. 

 

Terms Of Payment For All Other Charges:  All bills rendered quarterly or monthly are due and payable in full when 
rendered.  
 



 KENT COUNTY WATER AUTHORITY 

RATE SCHEDULE 
STEP INCREASE FY2018 

WITH PUBLIC HYDRANT RATES 
Page 1 

  KCWA PUC DOCKET#  
EFFECTIVE:   

 

METER SALES VOLUME:                      
 
Applicable to all metered water in the Kent County system for residential, commercial and industrial consumption. 
 

Rates:                      Rate Per 
             100 cu. ft.  

 
Small (5/8" to 2" meters)    $5.254    $5.795 
Medium (3" to 4" meters)    $4.476   $4.588 
Large (6" meters and up)    $3.816   $4.173 
 

Terms of payment: 
 
All metered sales bills are rendered quarterly or monthly and are due and payable in full when rendered. 

 

METERED SALES SERVICE CHARGE: 
 
Applicable to all metered sales of customers of Kent County Water Authority exclusive of fire service connections. 
 

Rates:  Meter Size (in)  Quarterly Accounts               Monthly Accounts 
 

  5/8 & 3/4 $10.26         $ 15.88  $7.51     $11.58 
      1  $13.57         $ 21.03      $8.61     $13.29 
      1 ½  $19.78         $ 30.07  $10.67     $16.52 
      2  $25.17         $ 39.08  $12.47     $19.32 
      3  $32.20         $ 50.04  $14.82     $22.96 
      4  $45.86         $ 71.30  $19.37     $30.05 
      6  $76.08         $ 118.36  $29.44     $45.74 
      8 &up $128.66             $ 200.22  $46.97       $73.03 

 

Terms of Payment: 
 
All customer service charges are billed quarterly or monthly in advance, and are due and payable in full when rendered. 
 

DEMAND SURCHARGE: 
 

Rates:  Meter Size (in)  Quarterly Accounts               Monthly Accounts 
 

  5/8 & 3/4         $   3.18       $  1.06 
      1          $   5.33           $  1.78 
      1 ½          $ 10.62       $  3.54 
      2          $ 17.01       $  5.76 
      3          $ 34.02       $11.34 
      4          $ 53.15       $17.72 
      6          $ 106.30       $35.43 
      8 &up             $ 170.11           $56.70 

 

Terms of Payment: 
 
All demand surcharges are billed quarterly or monthly in advance, and are due and payable in full when rendered.  
 

PUBLIC FIRE SERVICE: 
 
Applicable for service to public fire hydrants in the Kent County service area.   
 

Rates:              Quarterly 
 

Hydrant  $139.33        $260.89 hydrant 
Plus  $6.12/billing $ 9.43/billing 
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Terms of Payment: 
 
All bills for public fire service are rendered quarterly in advance and are due payable in full when rendered.  
 

PRIVATE FIRE SERVICE: 
 
Applicable for service to private fire protection systems and private hydrants in the Kent County service area. 

 

Rates:      Service Size (in.)             Quarterly Accounts 
    

 4  $55.69     $ 99.58 
 6  $150.00     $271.31 
 8  $312.96     $567.51 
10  $557.88     $1,013.06 
12  $897.35     $1,630.56 

           hydrant  $150.09     $271.31 
 

Terms of Payment: 
 
All bills for private fire services are rendered quarterly in advance and are due and payable in full when rendered. 
 

 

OTHER CHARGES                                                                                                                                          

 

WHOLESALE RATE WARWICK WATER DEPARTMENT:  Same rate as charged by Providence Water Supply Board.  
Rate will change upon changes to Providence Water Supply Board wholesale rate charge. 
 

INTEREST ON DELINQUENT ACCOUNTS:  Applicable to all water account balances over 30 days from billing date.  
Interest charges are payable as incurred. 
 

CHARGE:  1.5% per month on unpaid balances. 

 

TURN OFF CHARGE:  Applicable to all services turned off due to a specific violation which resulted in the requirement to 
terminate service and requests prior to 8:00 a.m. and after 3:00 p.m., Monday thru Friday and all day Saturday, Sunday, 
and any Holiday.  Charges payable in full prior to subsequent turn-on. 
 

CHARGE:  $55.00 per occurrence 
 

TURN ON CHARGE:  Applicable to all services turned on after the interruption of a service due to a specific violation 
which resulted in the service shut off and requests prior to 8:00 a.m. and after 3:00 p.m., Monday thru Friday and all day 
Saturday, Sunday, and any Holiday.  Charges payable in full prior to turn-on. 
 

CHARGE:  $45.00 per occurrence 
 

INSTALLATION AND REPAIR WORK:  Applicable to all installation and repair work. 
 

CHARGE: Cost of all material, labor and equipment plus applicable overhead, as determined by the 
Kent County Water Authority on a yearly basis, usually on July 1. 

 

CHLORINATION CHARGE:  Applicable to all main extensions to existing systems. 
 

CHARGE: Cost of laboratory and labor to collect, transport to lab, flush and test sample, as determined 
by the Kent County Water Authority on a yearly basis, usually on July 1. 

 

MATERIAL PURCHASE:  Applicable to all material sales. 
 

CHARGE: Cost of material plus handling and applicable overhead, as determined by the Kent County 
Water Authority on a yearly basis, usually on July 1. 

 

INSUFFICIENT FUND RETURNED CHECKS:  Applicable to all payment checks returned to Kent County Water Authority 
by our bank due to insufficient funds available or account problems will bear a charge for our handling and bank charges. 
 

CHARGE: $20.00 Per occurrence. 
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METER TESTING:  Applicable to all meter testing services. 
 
 CHARGE: $50.00 $100.00 Per occurrence. 
 

INSPECTION FEE’S:  Applicable to all developer installation work, public or private, in regards to all main or service 
extensions. 
 
 CHARGE: $5.00/ft of installed main or for service pipe from main to curb stop. 
 

LEGAL FEE’s:  Applicable to all services requiring legal assistance by the Kent County Water Authority’s legal counsel 
including but not limited to easement description preparation or review, deed restriction preparation or review, 
involvement with actions necessary for review or approvals of any water service request to the Authority. 
 
 CHARGE: Cost as billed to Kent County Water Authority by legal counsel on a monthly basis. 
 

BILLABLE LOST WATER:  Applicable to all lost water caused by ruptured mains, service pipes or any and all ancillary 
appurtenances of the system by actions of others. Volume metered or estimated by the Authority due to non-metered lost 
water. 
 

CHARGE:   Billed at the rate established for the 5/8” to 2” metered volume rate per 100 cubic feet, 
metered or estimated. 

 

Terms Of Payment For All Other Charges:  All bills rendered quarterly or monthly are due and payable in full when 
rendered.  
 
 



 KENT COUNTY WATER AUTHORITY 

RATE SCHEDULE 
STEP INCREASE FY2019 

WITH PUBLIC HYDRANT RATES 
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  KCWA PUC DOCKET#  
EFFECTIVE:   

 

METER SALES VOLUME:                      
 
Applicable to all metered water in the Kent County system for residential, commercial and industrial consumption. 
 

Rates:                      Rate Per 
             100 cu. ft.  

 
Small (5/8" to 2" meters)    $5.254    $6.159 
Medium (3" to 4" meters)    $4.476   $4.876 
Large (6" meters and up)    $3.816   $4.435 
 

Terms of payment: 
 
All metered sales bills are rendered quarterly or monthly and are due and payable in full when rendered. 

 

METERED SALES SERVICE CHARGE: 
 
Applicable to all metered sales of customers of Kent County Water Authority exclusive of fire service connections. 
 

Rates:  Meter Size (in)  Quarterly Accounts               Monthly Accounts 
 

  5/8 & 3/4 $10.26         $ 16.88  $7.51     $12.31 
      1  $13.57         $ 22.35      $8.61     $14.13 
      1 ½  $19.78         $ 32.63  $10.67     $17.56 
      2  $25.17         $ 41.53  $12.47     $20.53 
      3  $32.20         $ 53.18  $14.82     $24.40 
      4  $45.86         $ 75.78  $19.37     $31.94 
      6  $76.08         $ 125.79  $29.44     $48.61 
      8 &up $128.06          $ 212.80  $46.97       $77.61 

 

Terms of Payment: 
 
All customer service charges are billed quarterly or monthly in advance, and are due and payable in full when rendered. 
 

DEMAND SURCHARGE: 
 

Rates:  Meter Size (in)  Quarterly Accounts               Monthly Accounts 
 

  5/8 & 3/4         $   3.38       $  1.13 
      1          $   5.66           $  1.89 
      1 ½          $ 11.29       $  3.76 
      2          $ 18.08       $  6.03 
      3          $ 36.16       $12.05 
      4          $ 56.49       $18.83 
      6          $ 112.98       $37.66 
      8 &up             $ 180.79           $60.26 

 

Terms of Payment: 
 
All demand surcharges are billed quarterly or monthly in advance, and are due and payable in full when rendered.  
 

PUBLIC FIRE SERVICE: 
 
Applicable for service to public fire hydrants in the Kent County service area.   
 

Rates:              Quarterly 
 

Hydrant  $139.33        $277.28 hydrant 
Plus  $6.12/billing $ 10.02/billing 
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Terms of Payment: 
 
All bills for public fire service are rendered quarterly in advance and are due payable in full when rendered.  
 

PRIVATE FIRE SERVICE: 
 
Applicable for service to private fire protection systems and private hydrants in the Kent County service area. 

 

Rates:      Service Size (in.)             Quarterly Accounts 
    

 4  $55.69     $105.84 
 6  $150.00     $288.35 
 8  $312.96     $603.15 
10  $557.88     $1,076.67 
12  $897.35     $1,732.95 

           hydrant  $150.09     $288.35 
 

Terms of Payment: 
 
All bills for private fire services are rendered quarterly in advance and are due and payable in full when rendered. 
 

 

OTHER CHARGES                                                                                                                                          

 

WHOLESALE RATE WARWICK WATER DEPARTMENT:  Same rate as charged by Providence Water Supply Board.  
Rate will change upon changes to Providence Water Supply Board wholesale rate charge. 
 

INTEREST ON DELINQUENT ACCOUNTS:  Applicable to all water account balances over 30 days from billing date.  
Interest charges are payable as incurred. 
 

CHARGE:  1.5% per month on unpaid balances. 

 

TURN OFF CHARGE:  Applicable to all services turned off due to a specific violation which resulted in the requirement to 
terminate service and requests prior to 8:00 a.m. and after 3:00 p.m., Monday thru Friday and all day Saturday, Sunday, 
and any Holiday.  Charges payable in full prior to subsequent turn-on. 
 

CHARGE:  $55.00 per occurrence 
 

TURN ON CHARGE:  Applicable to all services turned on after the interruption of a service due to a specific violation 
which resulted in the service shut off and requests prior to 8:00 a.m. and after 3:00 p.m., Monday thru Friday and all day 
Saturday, Sunday, and any Holiday.  Charges payable in full prior to turn-on. 
 

CHARGE:  $45.00 per occurrence 
 

INSTALLATION AND REPAIR WORK:  Applicable to all installation and repair work. 
 

CHARGE: Cost of all material, labor and equipment plus applicable overhead, as determined by the 
Kent County Water Authority on a yearly basis, usually on July 1. 

 

CHLORINATION CHARGE:  Applicable to all main extensions to existing systems. 
 

CHARGE: Cost of laboratory and labor to collect, transport to lab, flush and test sample, as determined 
by the Kent County Water Authority on a yearly basis, usually on July 1. 

 

MATERIAL PURCHASE:  Applicable to all material sales. 
 

CHARGE: Cost of material plus handling and applicable overhead, as determined by the Kent County 
Water Authority on a yearly basis, usually on July 1. 

 

INSUFFICIENT FUND RETURNED CHECKS:  Applicable to all payment checks returned to Kent County Water Authority 
by our bank due to insufficient funds available or account problems will bear a charge for our handling and bank charges. 
 

CHARGE: $20.00 Per occurrence. 
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METER TESTING:  Applicable to all meter testing services. 
 
 CHARGE: $50.00  $100.00 Per occurrence. 
 

INSPECTION FEE’S:  Applicable to all developer installation work, public or private, in regards to all main or service 
extensions. 
 
 CHARGE: $5.00/ft of installed main or for service pipe from main to curb stop. 
 

LEGAL FEE’s:  Applicable to all services requiring legal assistance by the Kent County Water Authority’s legal counsel 
including but not limited to easement description preparation or review, deed restriction preparation or review, 
involvement with actions necessary for review or approvals of any water service request to the Authority. 
 
 CHARGE: Cost as billed to Kent County Water Authority by legal counsel on a monthly basis. 
 

BILLABLE LOST WATER:  Applicable to all lost water caused by ruptured mains, service pipes or any and all ancillary 
appurtenances of the system by actions of others. Volume metered or estimated by the Authority due to non-metered lost 
water. 
 

CHARGE:   Billed at the rate established for the 5/8” to 2” metered volume rate per 100 cubic feet, 
metered or estimated. 

 

Terms Of Payment For All Other Charges:  All bills rendered quarterly or monthly are due and payable in full when 
rendered.  
 
 



 KENT COUNTY WATER AUTHORITY 

RATE SCHEDULE 
WITHOUT PUBLIC HYDRANT RATES 
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  KCWA PUC DOCKET#  

EFFECTIVE:   
 

METER SALES VOLUME:                      
 
Applicable to all metered water in the Kent County system for residential, commercial and industrial consumption. 
 

Rates:                      Rate Per 
             100 cu. ft.  

 
Small (5/8" to 2" meters)   $5.254     $5.580 
Medium (3" to 4" meters)   $4.476    $4.418 
Large (6" meters and up)   $3.816    $4.018 
 

Terms of payment: 
 
All metered sales bills are rendered quarterly or monthly and are due and payable in full when rendered. 

 

METERED SALES SERVICE CHARGE: 
 
Applicable to all metered sales of customers of Kent County Water Authority exclusive of fire service connections. 
 

Rates:  Meter Size (in)  Quarterly Accounts               Monthly Accounts 
 

  5/8 & 3/4 $10.26         $ 29.79  $7.51     $15.99 
      1  $13.57         $ 44.42      $8.61     $20.86 
      1 ½  $19.78         $ 77.89  $10.67     $32.02 
      2  $25.17         $ 114.96  $12.47     $44.38 
      3  $32.20         $ 202.84  $14.82     $73.67 
      4  $45.86         $ 310.31  $19.37     $109.49 
      6  $76.08         $ 597.26  $29.44     $205.14 
      8 &up $128.66           $ 966.06  $46.97       $328.08 

 

Terms of Payment: 
 
All customer service charges are billed quarterly or monthly in advance, and are due and payable in full when rendered. 
 

DEMAND SURCHARGE: 
 

Rates:  Meter Size (in)  Quarterly Accounts               Monthly Accounts 
 

  5/8 & 3/4         $ 3.06       $  1.02 
      1          $ 5.13           $  1.71 
      1 ½          $ 10.23       $  3.41 
      2          $ 16.38       $  5.46 
      3          $ 32.76       $10.92 
      4          $ 51.18       $17.06 
      6          $ 102.36       $34.12 
      8 &up             $ 163.80           $54.60 

 

Terms of Payment: 
 
All demand surcharges are billed quarterly or monthly in advance, and are due and payable in full when rendered.  
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PRIVATE FIRE SERVICE: 
 
Applicable for service to private fire protection systems and private hydrants in the Kent County service area. 

 

Rates:      Service Size (in.)             Quarterly Accounts 
    

 4  $55.69       $95.89 
 6  $150.09      $261.25 
 8  $312.94      $546.47 
10  $557.88      $975.49 
12  $897.35      $1,570.10 

           hydrant  $150.09      $261.25 
 

Terms of Payment: 
 
All bills for private fire services are rendered quarterly in advance and are due and payable in full when rendered. 
 

 

OTHER CHARGES                                                                                                                                          

 

WHOLESALE RATE WARWICK WATER DEPARTMENT:  Same rate as charged by Providence Water Supply Board.  
Rate will change upon changes to Providence Water Supply Board wholesale rate charge. 
 

INTEREST ON DELINQUENT ACCOUNTS:  Applicable to all water account balances over 30 days from billing date.  
Interest charges are payable as incurred. 
 

CHARGE:  1.5% per month on unpaid balances. 

 

TURN OFF CHARGE:  Applicable to all services turned off due to a specific violation which resulted in the requirement to 
terminate service and requests prior to 8:00 a.m. and after 3:00 p.m., Monday thru Friday and all day Saturday, Sunday, 
and any Holiday.  Charges payable in full prior to subsequent turn-on. 
 

CHARGE:  $55.00 per occurrence 
 

TURN ON CHARGE:  Applicable to all services turned on after the interruption of a service due to a specific violation 
which resulted in the service shut off and requests prior to 8:00 a.m. and after 3:00 p.m., Monday thru Friday and all day 
Saturday, Sunday, and any Holiday.  Charges payable in full prior to turn-on. 
 

CHARGE:  $45.00 per occurrence 
 

INSTALLATION AND REPAIR WORK:  Applicable to all installation and repair work. 
 

CHARGE: Cost of all material, labor and equipment plus applicable overhead, as determined by the 
Kent County Water Authority on a yearly basis, usually on July 1. 

 

CHLORINATION CHARGE:  Applicable to all main extensions to existing systems. 
 

CHARGE: Cost of laboratory and labor to collect, transport to lab, flush and test sample, as determined 
by the Kent County Water Authority on a yearly basis, usually on July 1. 

 

MATERIAL PURCHASE:  Applicable to all material sales. 
 

CHARGE: Cost of material plus handling and applicable overhead, as determined by the Kent County 
Water Authority on a yearly basis, usually on July 1. 

 

INSUFFICIENT FUND RETURNED CHECKS:  Applicable to all payment checks returned to Kent County Water Authority 
by our bank due to insufficient funds available or account problems will bear a charge for our handling and bank charges. 
 

CHARGE: $20.00 Per occurrence. 
 

METER TESTING:  Applicable to all meter testing services. 
 
 CHARGE: $50.00 $100.00 Per occurrence. 
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INSPECTION FEE’S:  Applicable to all developer installation work, public or private, in regards to all main or service 
extensions. 
 
 CHARGE: $5.00/ft of installed main or for service pipe from main to curb stop. 
 

LEGAL FEE’s:  Applicable to all services requiring legal assistance by the Kent County Water Authority’s legal counsel 
including but not limited to easement description preparation or review, deed restriction preparation or review, 
involvement with actions necessary for review or approvals of any water service request to the Authority. 
 
 CHARGE: Cost as billed to Kent County Water Authority by legal counsel on a monthly basis. 
 

BILLABLE LOST WATER:  Applicable to all lost water caused by ruptured mains, service pipes or any and all ancillary 
appurtenances of the system by actions of others. Volume metered or estimated by the Authority due to non-metered lost 
water. 
 

CHARGE:   Billed at the rate established for the 5/8” to 2” metered volume rate per 100 cubic feet, 
metered or estimated. 

 

HYDRANT:  Installation applicable to any request by any fire department, district or governing body for installation of a 
fire hydrant for public firefighting purposes only. Location is to be determined and connected to the water infrastructure of 
KCWA, where adequate pressure and volume exists, as determined by KCWA for firefighting purpose requested. 
 

CHARGE:   Billed at cost for all construction, installation, materials engineering and remediation services 
required either by outside construction contractors or KCWA staff services. Construction 
services to be approved by KCWA in advance if performed by a contractor engaged by the 
fire department, district or governing body. 

 

Terms Of Payment For All Other Charges:  All bills rendered quarterly or monthly are due and payable in full when 
rendered.  
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  KCWA PUC DOCKET#  
EFFECTIVE:   

 

METER SALES VOLUME:                      
 
Applicable to all metered water in the Kent County system for residential, commercial and industrial consumption. 
 

Rates:                      Rate Per 
             100 cu. ft.  

 
Small (5/8" to 2" meters)    $5.254    $5.79 
Medium (3" to 4" meters)    $4.476   $4.59 
Large (6" meters and up)    $3.816   $4.17 
 

Terms of payment: 
 
All metered sales bills are rendered quarterly or monthly and are due and payable in full when rendered. 

 

METERED SALES SERVICE CHARGE: 
 
Applicable to all metered sales of customers of Kent County Water Authority exclusive of fire service connections. 
 

Rates:  Meter Size (in)  Quarterly Accounts               Monthly Accounts 
 

  5/8 & 3/4 $10.26         $ 30.94  $7.51     $16.61 
      1  $13.57         $ 46.13      $8.61     $21.66 
      1 ½  $19.78         $ 80.89  $10.67     $33.25 
      2  $25.17         $ 119.39  $12.47     $46.09 
      3  $32.20         $ 210.65  $14.82     $76.51 
      4  $45.86         $ 322.26  $19.37     $113.71 
      6  $76.08         $ 620.26  $29.44     $213.04 
      8 &up $128.66          $ 1,003.26  $46.97       $340.71 

 

Terms of Payment: 
 
All customer service charges are billed quarterly or monthly in advance, and are due and payable in full when rendered. 
 

DEMAND SURCHARGE: 
 

Rates:  Meter Size (in)  Quarterly Accounts               Monthly Accounts 
 

  5/8 & 3/4         $ 3.18       $  1.06 
      1          $ 5.33           $  1.78 
      1 ½          $ 10.62       $  3.54 
      2          $ 17.01       $  5.67 
      3          $ 34.02       $11.34 
      4          $ 53.15       $17.72 
      6          $ 106.30       $35.43 
      8 &up             $ 170.11           $56.70 

 

Terms of Payment: 
 
All demand surcharges are billed quarterly or monthly in advance, and are due and payable in full when rendered.  
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 



PAGE 2 

 

 

 
U:\Yadira\RATE CASE and bonding AND TESTIMONIES\2016\RATE SCHEDULE 1 step increase 2018 (Rate Case).doc 

 

PRIVATE FIRE SERVICE: 
 
Applicable for service to private fire protection systems and private hydrants in the Kent County service area. 

 

Rates:      Service Size (in.)             Quarterly Accounts 
    

 4  $55.69     $ 95.89 
 6  $150.09     $261.25 
 8  $312.94     $546.47 
10  $557.88     $975.49 
12  $897.35     $1,570.10 

           hydrant  $150.09     $261.25 
 

Terms of Payment: 
 
All bills for private fire services are rendered quarterly in advance and are due and payable in full when rendered. 
 

 

OTHER CHARGES                                                                                                                                          

 

WHOLESALE RATE WARWICK WATER DEPARTMENT:  Same rate as charged by Providence Water Supply Board.  
Rate will change upon changes to Providence Water Supply Board wholesale rate charge. 
 

INTEREST ON DELINQUENT ACCOUNTS:  Applicable to all water account balances over 30 days from billing date.  
Interest charges are payable as incurred. 
 

CHARGE:  1.5% per month on unpaid balances. 

 

TURN OFF CHARGE:  Applicable to all services turned off due to a specific violation which resulted in the requirement to 
terminate service and requests prior to 8:00 a.m. and after 3:00 p.m., Monday thru Friday and all day Saturday, Sunday, 
and any Holiday.  Charges payable in full prior to subsequent turn-on. 
 

CHARGE:  $55.00 per occurrence 
 

TURN ON CHARGE:  Applicable to all services turned on after the interruption of a service due to a specific violation 
which resulted in the service shut off and requests prior to 8:00 a.m. and after 3:00 p.m., Monday thru Friday and all day 
Saturday, Sunday, and any Holiday.  Charges payable in full prior to turn-on. 
 

CHARGE:  $45.00 per occurrence 
 

INSTALLATION AND REPAIR WORK:  Applicable to all installation and repair work. 
 

CHARGE: Cost of all material, labor and equipment plus applicable overhead, as determined by the 
Kent County Water Authority on a yearly basis, usually on July 1. 

 

CHLORINATION CHARGE:  Applicable to all main extensions to existing systems. 
 

CHARGE: Cost of laboratory and labor to collect, transport to lab, flush and test sample, as determined 
by the Kent County Water Authority on a yearly basis, usually on July 1. 

 

MATERIAL PURCHASE:  Applicable to all material sales. 
 

CHARGE: Cost of material plus handling and applicable overhead, as determined by the Kent County 
Water Authority on a yearly basis, usually on July 1. 

 

INSUFFICIENT FUND RETURNED CHECKS:  Applicable to all payment checks returned to Kent County Water Authority 
by our bank due to insufficient funds available or account problems will bear a charge for our handling and bank charges. 
 

CHARGE: $20.00 Per occurrence. 
 

METER TESTING:  Applicable to all meter testing services. 
 
 CHARGE: $50.00 $100.00 Per occurrence. 
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INSPECTION FEE’S:  Applicable to all developer installation work, public or private, in regards to all main or service 
extensions. 
 
 CHARGE: $5.00/ft of installed main or for service pipe from main to curb stop. 
 

LEGAL FEE’s:  Applicable to all services requiring legal assistance by the Kent County Water Authority’s legal counsel 
including but not limited to easement description preparation or review, deed restriction preparation or review, 
involvement with actions necessary for review or approvals of any water service request to the Authority. 
 
 CHARGE: Cost as billed to Kent County Water Authority by legal counsel on a monthly basis. 
 

BILLABLE LOST WATER:  Applicable to all lost water caused by ruptured mains, service pipes or any and all ancillary 
appurtenances of the system by actions of others. Volume metered or estimated by the Authority due to non-metered lost 
water. 
 

CHARGE:   Billed at the rate established for the 5/8” to 2” metered volume rate per 100 cubic feet, 
metered or estimated. 

 

HYDRANT:  Installation applicable to any request by any fire department, district or governing body for installation of a 
fire hydrant for public firefighting purposes only. Location is to be determined and connected to the water infrastructure of 
KCWA, where adequate pressure and volume exists, as determined by KCWA for firefighting purpose requested. 
 

CHARGE:   Billed at cost for all construction, installation, materials engineering and remediation services 
required either by outside construction contractors or KCWA staff services. Construction 
services to be approved by KCWA in advance if performed by a contractor engaged by the 
fire department, district or governing body. 

 

Terms Of Payment For All Other Charges:  All bills rendered quarterly or monthly are due and payable in full when 
rendered.  
 



 KENT COUNTY WATER AUTHORITY 

RATE SCHEDULE 
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  KCWA PUC DOCKET#  
EFFECTIVE:   

 

METER SALES VOLUME:                      
 
Applicable to all metered water in the Kent County system for residential, commercial and industrial consumption. 
 

Rates:                      Rate Per 
             100 cu. ft.  

 
Small (5/8" to 2" meters)    $5.254    $6.16 
Medium (3" to 4" meters)    $4.476   $4.88 
Large (6" meters and up)    $3.816   $4.43 
 

Terms of payment: 
 
All metered sales bills are rendered quarterly or monthly and are due and payable in full when rendered. 

 

METERED SALES SERVICE CHARGE: 
 
Applicable to all metered sales of customers of Kent County Water Authority exclusive of fire service connections. 
 

Rates:  Meter Size (in)  Quarterly Accounts               Monthly Accounts 
 

  5/8 & 3/4 $10.26         $ 32.88  $7.51     $17.65 
      1  $13.57         $ 49.03      $8.61     $23.02 
      1 ½  $19.78         $ 85.97  $10.67     $35.34 
      2  $25.17         $ 126.88  $12.47     $48.98 
      3  $32.20         $ 223.88  $14.82     $81.31 
      4  $45.86         $ 342.50  $19.37     $120.85 
      6  $76.08         $ 659.21  $29.44     $226.42 
      8 &up $128.66                      $ 1,066.26  $46.97       $362.11 

 

Terms of Payment: 
 
All customer service charges are billed quarterly or monthly in advance, and are due and payable in full when rendered. 
 

DEMAND SURCHARGE: 
 

Rates:  Meter Size (in)  Quarterly Accounts               Monthly Accounts 
 

  5/8 & 3/4         $ 3.38       $  1.13 
      1          $ 5.66           $  1.89 
      1 ½          $ 11.29       $  3.76 
      2          $ 18.08       $  6.03 
      3          $ 36.16       $12.05 
      4          $ 56.49       $18.83 
      6          $ 112.98       $37.66 
      8 &up             $ 180.79           $60.26 

 

Terms of Payment: 
 
All demand surcharges are billed quarterly or monthly in advance, and are due and payable in full when rendered.  
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PRIVATE FIRE SERVICE: 
 
Applicable for service to private fire protection systems and private hydrants in the Kent County service area. 

 

Rates:      Service Size (in.)             Quarterly Accounts 
    

 4  $55.69     $ 95.89 
 6  $150.09     $261.25 
 8  $312.94     $546.47 
10  $557.88     $975.49 
12  $897.35     $1,570.10 

           hydrant  $150.09     $261.25 
 

Terms of Payment: 
 
All bills for private fire services are rendered quarterly in advance and are due and payable in full when rendered. 
 

 

OTHER CHARGES                                                                                                                                          

 

WHOLESALE RATE WARWICK WATER DEPARTMENT:  Same rate as charged by Providence Water Supply Board.  
Rate will change upon changes to Providence Water Supply Board wholesale rate charge. 
 

INTEREST ON DELINQUENT ACCOUNTS:  Applicable to all water account balances over 30 days from billing date.  
Interest charges are payable as incurred. 
 

CHARGE:  1.5% per month on unpaid balances. 

 

TURN OFF CHARGE:  Applicable to all services turned off due to a specific violation which resulted in the requirement to 
terminate service and requests prior to 8:00 a.m. and after 3:00 p.m., Monday thru Friday and all day Saturday, Sunday, 
and any Holiday.  Charges payable in full prior to subsequent turn-on. 
 

CHARGE:  $55.00 per occurrence 
 

TURN ON CHARGE:  Applicable to all services turned on after the interruption of a service due to a specific violation 
which resulted in the service shut off and requests prior to 8:00 a.m. and after 3:00 p.m., Monday thru Friday and all day 
Saturday, Sunday, and any Holiday.  Charges payable in full prior to turn-on. 
 

CHARGE:  $45.00 per occurrence 
 

INSTALLATION AND REPAIR WORK:  Applicable to all installation and repair work. 
 

CHARGE: Cost of all material, labor and equipment plus applicable overhead, as determined by the 
Kent County Water Authority on a yearly basis, usually on July 1. 

 

CHLORINATION CHARGE:  Applicable to all main extensions to existing systems. 
 

CHARGE: Cost of laboratory and labor to collect, transport to lab, flush and test sample, as determined 
by the Kent County Water Authority on a yearly basis, usually on July 1. 

 

MATERIAL PURCHASE:  Applicable to all material sales. 
 

CHARGE: Cost of material plus handling and applicable overhead, as determined by the Kent County 
Water Authority on a yearly basis, usually on July 1. 

 

INSUFFICIENT FUND RETURNED CHECKS:  Applicable to all payment checks returned to Kent County Water Authority 
by our bank due to insufficient funds available or account problems will bear a charge for our handling and bank charges. 
 

CHARGE: $20.00 Per occurrence. 
 

METER TESTING:  Applicable to all meter testing services. 
 
 CHARGE: $50.00 $100.00 Per occurrence. 



PAGE 3 

 

 

 
U:\Yadira\RATE CASE and bonding AND TESTIMONIES\2016\RATE SCHEDULE 1 step increase 2019 (Rate Case).doc 

 

INSPECTION FEE’S:  Applicable to all developer installation work, public or private, in regards to all main or service 
extensions. 
 
 CHARGE: $5.00/ft of installed main or for service pipe from main to curb stop. 
 

LEGAL FEE’s:  Applicable to all services requiring legal assistance by the Kent County Water Authority’s legal counsel 
including but not limited to easement description preparation or review, deed restriction preparation or review, 
involvement with actions necessary for review or approvals of any water service request to the Authority. 
 
 CHARGE: Cost as billed to Kent County Water Authority by legal counsel on a monthly basis. 
 

BILLABLE LOST WATER:  Applicable to all lost water caused by ruptured mains, service pipes or any and all ancillary 
appurtenances of the system by actions of others. Volume metered or estimated by the Authority due to non-metered lost 
water. 
 

CHARGE:   Billed at the rate established for the 5/8” to 2” metered volume rate per 100 cubic feet, 
metered or estimated. 

 

HYDRANT:  Installation applicable to any request by any fire department, district or governing body for installation of a 
fire hydrant for public firefighting purposes only. Location is to be determined and connected to the water infrastructure of 
KCWA, where adequate pressure and volume exists, as determined by KCWA for firefighting purpose requested. 
 

CHARGE:   Billed at cost for all construction, installation, materials engineering and remediation services 
required either by outside construction contractors or KCWA staff services. Construction 
services to be approved by KCWA in advance if performed by a contractor engaged by the 
fire department, district or governing body. 

 

Terms Of Payment For All Other Charges:  All bills rendered quarterly or monthly are due and payable in full when 
rendered.  
 



FYE 2013:

Employees 7/1/2012 31                                

Employees 6/30/2013 32                                

Allowed emloyees 34                                

Actual overtime -$                             

FYE 2014:

Employees 7/1/2013 32                                

Employees 6/30/2014 34                                

Allowed emloyees 34                                

Actual overtime 106,068.67$                

Test Year  FYE 2015:

Employees 7/1/2014 34                                

Employees 6/30/2015 30                                

Allowed emloyees 34                                

Actual overtime 89,108.08$                  

Rate Year FYE 2017: -                               

6/30/2017 Proposed 37                                

Projected Overtime (Test Year Plus 2%) 90,890.24$                  

Kent County Water Authority

Number of Employees and Overtime
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