
 

STATE OF RHODE ISLAND AND PROVIDENCE PLANTATIONS 

PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION 

 
IN RE:  NATIONAL GRID’S PROPOSED GAS INFRASTRUCTURE, SAFETY AND  
RELIABILITY PLAN FOR FY 2017 - DOCKET NO. 4590               

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING 

 
Pursuant to the provisions of R.I. Gen. Laws §39-3-11, as amended, the Public Utilities 

Commission (PUC) will conduct a hearing on Thursday, February 11, 2016 @ 9:30 A.M. in 
Hearing Room A at the PUC’s office located at 89 Jefferson Boulevard, Warwick, Rhode Island. 

In this docket, the PUC will examine the propriety of a filing by The Narragansett Electric 
d/b/a National Grid seeking approval of a proposed Gas Infrastructure, Safety and Reliability Plan 
for FY 2017 (Plan).  The Plan is designed to enhance the safety and reliability of the Company’s 
natural gas distribution system.  The Plan is submitted to comply with the provisions of R.I.G.L. 
§§39-1-27.7.1, which provides for an annual infrastructure, safety and reliability spending plan for 
each fiscal year and an annual rate reconciliation mechanism that includes a reconcilable allowance 
for the anticipated capital investments and other spending pursuant to an annual pre-approved 
budget.  The proposed Plan would account for additional revenues of approximately $7.5 million 
that will be collected through the Distribution Adjustment Charge effective April 1, 2016.  The bill 
impact on an average residential heating customer using 846 therms annually would result in an 
annual increase of $23.59 or 2.1%.  The PUC may approve a different charge that may be higher or 
lower than that proposed by National Grid.  The PUC may rule immediately at the conclusion of the 
hearing. 

The filing may be examined at the PUC’s office.  The filing can also be accessed under the 
PUC’s website at www.ripuc.org/eventsactions/docket/4590page.html.  Reference is made to 
Chapters 39-1, 39-3 and 42-35 of the Rhode Island General Laws.   

The PUC is accessible to the handicapped.  Individuals requesting interpreter services for the 
hearing impaired must notify the Commission Clerk’s office at 780-2017, seventy-two hours in 
advance of hearing date. 

Luly E. Massaro, Commission Clerk 
January 29, 2016  


