
STATE OF RHODE ISLAND AND PROVIDENCE PLANTATIONS 

PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION 

 
IN RE:  PASCOAG UTILITY DISTRICT           :                                        
             2014 ANNUAL RECONCILIATION RATE FILING        :          DOCKET NO. 4454 
              2014 DEMAND SIDE MANAGEMENT PROGRAMS    :          DOCKET NO. 4452 

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING 

Pursuant to the provisions of Rhode Island General Laws §§ 39-1-1 and 39-3-11 of the 

Rhode Island General Laws, as amended, the Public Utilities Commission (“PUC”) will conduct a 

hearing on Thursday, December 12, 2013 at 9:30 A.M. in a Hearing Room A of the PUC’s office 

located at 89 Jefferson Boulevard, Warwick, Rhode Island.   

In these dockets, the PUC will examine the propriety of two filings submitted by the Pascoag 

Utility District.  In Docket No. 4454, Pascoag Utility District (“Pascoag”) seeks approval to 

reconcile its tariff adjustment provisions for the Standard Offer Service Rate, Transition Service 

Charge and Transmission Service Charge effective for consumption January 1, 2014.  Specifically, 

Pascoag seeks to implement the following rate changes:  1) to increase the Standard Offer Service 

Rate from $0.03550 per kWh to $0.07166 per kWh, 2) to decrease the Transition Service Charge 

from $0.01257 per kWh to $0.00609 per kWh, and 3) to increase the Transmission Service Charge 

from $0.02505 per kWh to $0.02552 per kWh.  The combined net impact of the proposed rate 

changes on a typical residential customer’s bill using 500 kWh per month would result in an increase 

of $15.06 or 23.8% from $63.33 to $78.39.  The PUC can approve different rates that may be higher 

or lower than those proposed by Pascoag.  The PUC will also undertake a review of Pascoag’s 2014 

supply procurement portfolio pursuant to R.I.G.L. §39-1-27.8. 

In Docket 4452, Pascoag seeks approval of proposed 2014 Demand Side Management 

Program (“DSM”) with an overall budget of $143,500 to implement energy efficiency programs and 



renewable energy resources targeted at different classes of residential, commercial and industrial 

customers.  The budget includes the continuation of the legislative mandated charge of $0.0023 per 

kWh, pursuant to R.I.G.L. § 39-2-1.2(b), for application in the billing months of January through 

December 2014 to fund the DSM programs.  The DSM charge represents a monthly charge of $1.00 

on a typical residential customer using 500 kWh per month.     

The filings may be examined at the PUC’s office and at the office of the Pascoag Utility 

District, 253 Pascoag Main Street, Pascoag, Rhode Island.  The filings can also be accessed under 

the PUC’s Docket Menu at www.ripuc.org, Docket No. 4454 and Docket No. 4452.  Reference is 

made to Chapters 39-1, 39-3 and 42-35 of the Rhode Island General Laws.  

The PUC is accessible to the handicapped.  Individuals requesting interpreter services for the 

hearing impaired must notify the Commission Clerk’s office at 401-780-2107, seventy-two hours in 

advance of hearing date. 

Luly E.  Massaro, Commission Clerk 
November 27, 2013 


