
STATE OF RHODE ISLAND AND PROVIDENCE PLANTATIONS 
PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION 

 
IN RE:  PASCOAG UTILITY DISTRICT           :                                        
            2012 ANNUAL RECONCILIATION RATE FILING        :          DOCKET NO. 4298 
             2012 DEMAND SIDE MANAGEMENT PROGRAMS    :          DOCKET NO. 4297 

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING 

Pursuant to the provisions of Sections 39-1-1 and 39-3-11 of the Rhode Island General 

Laws, as amended, the Public Utilities Commission (“Commission”) will conduct a hearing on 

Tuesday, December 20, 2011 at 9:30 A.M. in a Hearing Room A of the Public Utilities 

Commission located at 89 Jefferson Boulevard., Warwick, Rhode Island.   

In these dockets, the Commission will examine the propriety of filings submitted by the 

Pascoag Utility District seeking to implement revised rates and charges effective January 1, 2012.  In 

Docket No. 4298, Pascoag Utility District (“Pascoag”) seeks approval to reconcile its tariff 

adjustment provisions for the Standard Offer Service Rate, Transmission Service Charge and 

Transition Service Charge effective for consumption January 1, 2012.  Specifically, Pascoag seeks to 

implement the following rate changes:  1) to decrease the Standard Offer Service (SOS) Rate from 

$0.07064 per kWh to $0.05274 per kWh, 2) to increase the Transmission Charge from $0.02290 per 

kWh to $0.02393 per kWh, and 3) to reduce the Transition Charge from $0.01132 per kWh to 

$0.01117 per kWh.  The impact of the proposed rate changes on a typical residential customer’s bill 

using 500 kWh per month would result in a decrease $8.51 or 11.4% from $74.90 to $66.39.  

Pascoag also proposes an alternate rate change option that would allow retaining a portion of over 

collected funds and using the funds to mitigate future increases in energy costs.  The proposal will 

result in a decrease to the SOS rate from $0.07064 per kWh to $0.05657 per kWh and the same 

Transmission and Transition Charges as set forth above.  If approved, the alternate rate option would 



result in a monthly decrease of approximately $6.59 or 8.8% from $74.90 to $68.31.  The 

Commission can approve different rates that may be higher or lower than those proposed by 

Pascoag.  The Commission will also undertake a review Pascoag’s 2012 supply procurement 

portfolio pursuant to R.I.G.L. §39-1-27.8. 

In Docket 4297, Pascoag seeks approval of its 2012 Demand Side Management Program 

(“DSM”) and services with an overall projected budget of $118,000.  The budged includes a 

legislative mandated charge of $0.0023 per kWh for application in the billing months of January 

through December 2012 to fund a DSM programs and renewable energy resources.  The DSM 

charge represents a monthly charge of $1.00 on a typical residential customer using 500 kWh per 

month.   

           The filings may be examined at the Commission’s office and at the office of the Pascoag 

Utility District, 253 Pascoag Main Street, Pascoag, Rhode Island.  The filings can also be accessed 

under the Commission’s Docket Menu at www.ripuc.org, Docket No. 4298 and Docket No. 4297.  

Reference is made to Chapters 39-1, 39-3 and 42-35 of the Rhode Island General Laws.  

The Public Utilities Commission is accessible to the handicapped.  Individuals requesting 

interpreter services for the hearing impaired must notify the Commission Clerk’s office at 401-780-

2107, seventy-two hours in advance of hearing date. 

Luly E.  Massaro, Commission Clerk 
December 9, 2011 


