STATE OF RHODE ISLAND AND PROVIDENCE PLANTATIONS PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION

IN RE: LOW INCOME HOME ENERGY ASSISTANCE PROGRAM ("LIHEAP") ENHANCEMENT PLAN RATE FILING FILED BY THE RI OFFICE OF ENERGY RESOURCES - DOCKET NO. 4290

NOTICE TO PUBLIC HEARING

Pursuant to Rhode Island General Laws §§ 39-1 and 39-3 et seq., as amended, the Public Utilities Commission ("Commission") will conduct a hearing on <u>Wednesday</u>, <u>November 30</u>, <u>2011</u> @ <u>9:30 A.M.</u> in Hearing Room A of the Public Utilities Commission, located at 89 Jefferson Boulevard, Warwick, Rhode Island.

In this docket, the Commission will examine the propriety of a filing by the RI Office of Energy Resources ("OER") recommending approval of its proposed LIHEAP Enhancement Plan and Enhancement Charge for each class of electric and natural gas distribution customer for the calendar year 2012. This filing is submitted in compliance with The Henry Shelton Act enacted on July 13, 2011. (R.I.G.L. 39-27.12 et seq.) ("Act"). The Act was created to supplement the federal Low Income Household Assistance Program funding that is presently received by eligible customers of National Grid's electric and gas distribution companies. Implementation of the Plan will supplement the LIHEAP Program with additional funds between \$6,500,000 and \$7,500,000. The Act also requires OER to designate National Grid to collect and administer the LIHEAP Enhancement funds. OER recommends approval of a LIHEAP Enhancement Charge of 83¢ per month to be collected from National Grid's electric and gas distribution customers effective January 1, 2012.

The proposal may be examined at the Commission's office. The proposal can also be accessed at www.ripuc.org under Commission Docket Menu, Docket No. 4290. Reference is made to Chapters 39-1, 39-3 and 42-35 of the Rhode Island General Laws.

The Public Utilities Commission is accessible to the handicapped. Individuals requesting interpreter services for the hearing impaired must notify the Commission Clerk's office at 401-780-2017, seventy-two hours in advance of hearing date.

Luly E. Massaro, Commission Clerk November 22, 2011