
STATE OF RHODE ISLAND AND PROVIDENCE PLANTATIONS 
PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION 

 
IN RE:   UNITED WATER RHODE ISLAND   DOCKET NO. 4255 
              APPLICATION TO CHANGE RATES 

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARINGS 
 

Pursuant to the provisions R.I. General Laws §§ 39-1-1 and 39-3-11, as amended, the 
Public Utilities Commission (“Commission”) will conduct hearings on the following dates and 
locations to accept public comments on United Water’s proposed rate application: 

September 15, 2011 @ 6:00 P.M. South Kingstown Town Hall, Council Chambers 
                                                               80 High Street 
                                                               Wakefield, Rhode Island 

January 10, 2012 @ 9:30 A.M.     Public Utilities Commission 
     89 Jefferson Boulevard 
                                                               Warwick, Rhode Island 

In this docket, the Commission will examine an application by the United Water 
Rhode Island seeking approval to implement new rates designed to generate additional 
operating revenues in the amount of $1,218,702 to support a total cost of service of 
$4,077,004.  If approved, the bill impact of this request for a typical residential customer will 
be an increase of $6.54 per month or 34.9%. The proposed increase for non-residential 
customer ranges from 68.6% to 69.8%. For wholesale customers the proposed increase is 
25.9%. The proposed increase for municipal fire service is 100% and for private fire service 
customers the proposed increase ranges from 35.9% to 61%.  The Commission may approve 
different rates that may be higher or lower than those proposed by United Water.  

The application is on file for examination at the Commission’s office and at office of 
United Water, 17 Arnold Street, Wakefield, Rhode Island.  The application can also be 
accessed at www.ripuc.org, Commission’s Docket Menu, Docket No. 4255.  Reference is 
made to Chapters 39-1, 39-3 and 42-35 of the Rhode Island General Laws. 

These buildings are accessible to the handicapped.  Individuals requesting interpreter 
services for the hearing impaired must notify the Clerk’s office at 780-2017 seventy-two hours 
in advance of hearing date. 

 
Luly E. Massaro, Commission Clerk      
September 2, 2011 


