
STATE OF RHODE ISLAND AND PROVIDENCE PLANTATIONS 
PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION 

 
IN RE:  PASCOAG UTILITY DISTRICT           :                                        
            ANNUAL RECONCILIATION RATE FILING         : DOCKET NO. 4211 
             2011 DEMAND SIDE MANAGEMENT PROGRAMS    : DOCKET NO. 4208 

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING 

Pursuant to the provisions of Sections 39-1-1, 39-1-11 and 39-3-11 of the Rhode Island 

General Laws, as amended, the Public Utilities Commission (“Commission”) will conduct a hearing 

on Wednesday, December 22, 2010 at 9:30 A.M. in a Hearing Room A of the Public Utilities 

Commission located at 89 Jefferson Boulevard., Warwick, Rhode Island.  The hearing may continue 

thereafter from day to day and time to time as required.  

In these dockets, the Commission will examine the propriety of filings submitted by the 

Pascoag Utility District seeking to implement revised rates and charges effective January 1, 2011.  In 

Docket No. 4211, Pascoag Utility District (“Pascoag”) seeks approval to reconcile its tariff 

adjustment provisions for the Standard Offer Service Rate, Transmission Service Charge and 

Transition Service Charge effective for consumption January 1, 2011.  Specifically, Pascoag seeks to 

implement the following rate changes:  1) to decrease the Standard Offer Service Rate from 

$0.07655 per kWh to $0.06678 per kWh, 2) to increase the Transmission Charge from $0.02008 per 

kWh to $0.02290 per kWh, and 3) to reduce the Transition Charge from $0.01158 to $0.01132 per 

kWh.  The impact of the proposed rate changes on a typical residential customer’s bill using 500 

kWh per month would result in a decrease $3.61 or 4.7% from $76.58 to $72.97.  Pascoag also 

proposes an alternate rate change option that would allow Pascoag to establish a Rate Stabilization 

Fund, retain a portion of over collected funds and use the funds to offset future increases in energy 

costs.  If approved, the alternate rate option would result in a monthly decrease of approximately 



$1.68 or 2.2% from $76.58 to $74.90.  The Commission can approve different rates that may be 

higher or lower than those proposed by Pascoag.  The Commission will also undertake a review 

Pascoag’s 2011 supply procurement portfolio pursuant to R.I.G.L. §39-1-27.8. 

In Docket 4208, Pascoag seeks approval of its 2011 Demand Side Management Program 

(“DSM”) and services with an overall projected budget of $121,000.  The budged includes a 

legislative mandated charge of $0.0023 per kWh for application in the billing months of January 

through December 2011 to fund a DSM programs and renewable energy resources.  The DSM 

charge represents a monthly charge of $1.00 on a typical residential customer using 500 kWh per 

month.   

The filings may be examined at the Commission’s office and at the office of the Pascoag 

Utility District, 253 Pascoag Main Street, Pascoag, Rhode Island.  The filings can also be accessed 

under the Commission’s Docket Menu at www.ripuc.org, Docket No. 4211 and Docket No. 4208.  

Reference is made to Chapters 39-1, 39-3 and 42-35 of the Rhode Island General Laws.  

The Public Utilities Commission is accessible to the handicapped.  Individuals requesting 

interpreter services for the hearing impaired must notify the Commission Clerk’s office at 401-780-

2107, seventy-two hours in advance of hearing date. 

Luly E.  Massaro, Commission Clerk 
December 12, 2010 


