
STATE OF RHODE ISLAND AND PROVIDENCE PLANTATIONS 
PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION 

 
IN RE:   PASCOAG UTILITY DISTRICT   :                            
              ANNUAL RECONCILIATION RATE FILING :  DOCKET NO. 4129 
              2010 DEMAND SIDE MANAGEMENT   :  DOCKET NO. 4130 

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING 

Pursuant to the provisions of Sections 39-1-1, 39-1-11 and 39-3-11 of the Rhode Island 

General Laws, as amended, the Public Utilities Commission (“Commission”) will conduct a hearing 

on Monday, December 14, 2009 at 9:30 A.M. in a Hearing Room A of the Public Utilities 

Commission located at 89 Jefferson Boulevard., Warwick, Rhode Island.  The hearing may continue 

thereafter from day to day and time to time as required.  

In these dockets, the Commission will examine the propriety of filings submitted by the 

Pascoag Utility District seeking to implement revised rates and charges effective January 1, 2010.  In 

Docket No. 4029, Pascoag Utility District (“Pascoag”) seeks approval of its annual rate filing to 

reconcile its tariff adjustment provisions for the Standard Offer Service Rate, Transmission Service 

Charge and Transition Service Charge effective for consumption January 1, 2010.  Pascoag proposes 

to realign the individual charges such that it would allow Pascoag to maintain the overall rate at the 

existing level at $0.11043 per kWh.  The proposed changes to the individual charges are:  1) to 

increase the Standard Offer Service Rate from $0.06338 per kWh to $0.07525 per kWh, 2) to reduce 

the Transmission Charge from $0.03294 per kWh to $0.02283 per kWh, and 3) to reduce the 

Transition Charge from $0.01441 to $0.01235 per kWh.  The proposal would result in no rate 

change on the customer’s monthly bill.  The Commission can approve different rates that may be 

higher or lower than those proposed by Pascoag.  The Commission will also undertake a review 

Pascoag’s 2011 supply procurement portfolio pursuant to R.I.G.L. §39-1-27.8. 



 

In Docket 4130, Pascoag seeks approval of its 2010 Demand Side Management Program 

(“DSM”) and services with an overall projected budget of $104,500.  The budged includes a 

legislative mandated charge of $0.0023 per kWh for application in the billings months of January 

through December 2010 to fund a DSM program and renewable energy resources.  The DSM charge 

represents a monthly charge of $1.00 on a typical residential customer using 500 kWh per month.   

The filings may be examined at the Commission’s office and at the office of the Pascoag 

Utility District, 253 Pascoag Main Street, Pascoag, Rhode Island.  The filings can also be accessed 

under the Commission’s Docket Menu at www.ripuc.org, Docket No. 4129 and Docket No. 4130.  

Reference is made to Chapters 39-1, 39-3 and 42-35 of the Rhode Island General Laws; 

specifically Sections 39-1-7, 39-1-8, 39-1-11, 39-1-12, 39-1-18, 39-1-20, 42-35-8, 42-35-9 and 42-

35-10. 

The Public Utilities Commission is accessible to the handicapped.  Individuals requesting 

interpreter services for the hearing impaired must notify the Commission Clerk’s office at 401-780-

2107, seventy-two hours in advance of hearing date. 

Luly E.  Massaro, Commission Clerk 
December 4, 2009 


