
STATE OF RHODE ISLAND AND PROVIDENCE PLANTATIONS 
PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION 

 
IN RE:   PROVIDENCE WATER SUPPLY BOARD   DOCKET NO. 4061 
              APPLICATION TO CHANGE RATE SCHEDULES  

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARINGS 
 
Pursuant to the provisions of Sections 39-1-1 and 39-3-11 of the General Laws, as amended, 
the Public Utilities Commission (“Commission”) will conduct public hearings on the 
following dates and locations: 

June 25, 2009 @ 6:00 P.M.  Providence Public Safety Complex - Auditorium 
325 Washington Street  
Providence, Rhode Island 

July 8, 2009 @ 6:00 P.M.  North Providence Town Hall – Council Chambers 
2000 Smith Street 
North Providence, Rhode Island  

July 14, 2009 @ 6:00 P.M.  Western Hills Middle School - Auditorium 
400 Phenix Avenue 
Cranston, Rhode Island 

The hearing will continue at 9:30 A.M., October 13, 2009 in the 1st floor hearing room of the 
Public Utilities Commission located at 89 Jefferson Boulevard, Warwick, Rhode Island. 

In this docket, the Commission will examine the propriety of an application by the Providence 
Water Supply Board seeking approval to implement new rates designed to generate additional 
revenues in the amount of $5,569,425 to support total cost of service of $62,476,576 or an 
overall increase of 9.79% over current revenues.  If approved, the impact on a residential 
customer’s bill with an annual consumption of 100 HCF will be an increase of $27.96, from 
$276.32 to $304.28 per year.    

The filing may be examined at the Commission’s office and at office of the Providence Water 
Supply Board, 552 Academy Avenue, Providence, Rhode Island.  The filing can also be 
accessed at www.ripuc.org, Commission Docket Menu, Docket No. 4061. 

Reference is made to Chapters 39-1, 39-3 and 42-35 of the Rhode Island General Laws; 
specifically Sections 39-1-7, 39-1-8, 39-1-11, 39-1-12, 39-1-16, 39-1-18, 39-1-20, 42-35-8 
and 42-35-10. 

These buildings are accessible to the handicapped.  Individuals requesting interpreter services 
for the hearing impaired must notify the Commission Clerk’s office at 941-4500, seventy-two 
hours in advance of hearing date.  

Luly E. Massaro, Commission Clerk 
June 15, 2009 


