STATE OF RHODE ISLAND AND PROVIDENCE PLANTATIONS

PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION

IN RE:   PASCOAG UTILITY DISTRICT




DOCKET NO. 4006
              ANNUAL RECONCILIATION RATE FILING

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING

Pursuant to the provisions of Sections 39-1-1, 39-1-11 and 39-3-11 of the Rhode Island General Laws, as amended, the Public Utilities Commission (“Commission”) will conduct a hearing on Thursday, December 18, 2008 at 9:30 A.M. in a Hearing Room A of the Public Utilities Commission located at 89 Jefferson Boulevard., Warwick, Rhode Island.  The hearing may continue thereafter from day to day and time to time as required. 

In this docket, the Commission will examine the propriety of the Pascoag Utility District’s (“Pascoag”) annual rate filing to reconcile its tariff adjustment provisions for the Standard Offer Service, Transition Service and Transmission Service effective for consumption January 1, 2009.  Pascoag seeks to implement the following rate changes:  to increase the Standard Offer Service Rate from 5.942¢ per kWh to 6.456¢ per kWh, reduce the Transition Charge from 1.662¢ per kWh to 1.407¢ per kWh, and increase the Transmission Charge from 2.440¢ to 3.338¢ per kWh. If approved, the combined net impact on a typical residential customer using 500 kWh per month would be an increase of $5.78 per month or 8%, from $72.69 to $78.47.  The Commission can approve different rates that may be higher or lower than those proposed by the Pascoag Utility District.  
The filing may be examined at the Commission’s office and at the office of the Pascoag Utility District, 253 Pascoag Main Street, Pascoag, Rhode Island.  The filing can also be accessed under the Commission’s Docket Menu at www.ripuc.org, Docket No. 4006. 

Reference is made to Chapters 39-1, 39-3 and 42-35 of the Rhode Island General Laws; specifically Sections 39-1-7, 39-1-8, 39-1-11, 39-1-12, 39-1-18, 39-1-20, 42-35-8, 42-35-9 and 42-35-10.
The Public Utilities Commission is accessible to the handicapped.  Individuals requesting interpreter services for the hearing impaired must notify the Commission Clerk’s office at 941-4500, seventy-two hours in advance of hearing date.

Luly E.  Massaro, Commission Clerk
December 8, 2008
