Theresa L. O'Brien

Vice President — Regulatory Affairs

May 16, 2008

Ms. Luly Massaro, Commission Clerk
Rhode Island Public Utilities Commission

89 Jefferson Boulevard

Warwick, Rhode Island 02888

Dear Ms. Massaro:

234 Washington Stroest
Providence, Rl 02803

Phone 401 525-3060
Fax 401 525-3064
theresa.obrien@verizon.com

We are filing, herewith, for effect June 15, 2008, tariff material consisting of:

PUCRINo. 15
Revision of Original of
Part/Section Page(s) Page(s)
A/l 19 and 20 N/A
M/1 1 N/A

With this filing, Verizon Rhode Island (“Verizon RI”) proposes to remove the one-time bill credit
in the amount of $25.00 that is offered to residence customers who are disconnecting Verizon service and

agree to retain the service or are switching to Verizon from another local service provider.

If you have any questions regarding this filing, please contact Frances O'Neill-Cunha of my staff

at 401 525-3560.

Enclosed are an original and nine copies of the tariff material. Please return a copy of this letter
with your stamp of receipt.

Respectfully submitted,

Msoah Ofuas_

The_resa I.. O'Brien

Attachment




PUC RINo. 15 Exchange and Network Services
Part A Section 1

Page 19

Fourth Revision
Carnceling Third Revision

Verizon New England Inc.

1. Tariff Information and General Regulations
14 Responsibility of the Telephone Company

E. | The Telephone Company is not liable for any defacement of or damage to the premises of a
customer (or authorized user) resulting from the aftachment of the Telephone Company's
instruments, apparatus and associated wiring on such premises or by the installation or removal
thereof, when such defacement or damage is not the result of negligence of the Telephone

Company.

existence of a customer-provided power supply.

F. | The Telephone Company is not responsible to the customer, authorized user, joint user, sharer of
service, or patron of a reseller for injuries or damages to persons or property arising from the

month is considered to have 30 days.

A. | For any complete failure of local exchange service continued more 24 hours and brought to the
notice of the Telephone Company within ten days, the Telephone Company will make a prorata
adjustment of charges or guarantee. For the purpose of determining a prorata adjustment, every

2006) and other private line services is provided in accordance with the regulations in Part B.

B. | Allowance for interruptions of private line services involving tie fines (Private Line Type 2001B),
extension line service (Private Line Type 2001A) or foreign exchange service (Private Line Type

C. | Allowance for interruptions of Dedicated Toll Free Service (DTFS) is specified in Section 11.

one-time bill credit in the amount of $50.00.

Verizon monthly bill for the new focation.

A. | Qualifying residential customers who meet the following criteria may be eligible to receive a | (C)

3. | Current residence customers who contact Verizon to disconnect their dial-tone service due to
a move, and indicate that they are not ready to order service at the new location, will be
mailed a letter informing them that they are eligible for a one-time bill credit in the amount of
$50.00 if they establish new dial tone service with Verizon within 90 days of disconnecting
their service. The one-time $50.00 bill credit will be applied fo the customer’s first applicable

Issued: May 16, 2008 Theresa L. O’Brien
Effective: June 15, 2008 Vice President Regulatory-Ri
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PUCRI No. 15 Exchange and Network Services
Part A Section 1

Page 20

Fifth Revision

Verizon New England Inc. Canceling Fourth Revision

1. Tariff Information and General Regulations
14 Responsibility of the Telephone Company

3 {Cont’d)
a. i At the time the customer orders service at the new location, the customer (i) must call the

toll-free number printed on the letter and (ii) provide the representative with the offer code
included in the letter to receive the Not Ready for Service one-time $50.00 bill credit.

b. | Verizon will honor the Not Ready for Service one-time $50.00 bill credit issued by other
Verizon jurisdictions as long as the offer meets the terms and conditions of this tariff.

B. | Customers receiving the monthly discount offered under the Regional Essentials or Regional | (C)
Value Voice Discount are not eligible for the $50.00 bill credit. (<)

C. | Verizon customers receiving this one-time bill credit are not eligible to receive any other one-
time bill credit or one-time discount offer.

D. | The one-time bill credit is not available to customers disconnecting seasonal dial tone
service.

E. | Customers are eligible for the one-time bill credit only once in any rofling 12-month period.

A. | Residence Service— The Telephone Company assures that when a residence customer orders
a network access line, service will be installed on the agreed upon scheduled date.
1. | If service has not been installed on that date due to Telephone Company reasons, the customer
will receive a credit in the amount of the total of one month of recurring rates for any basic
exchange, auxdliary exchange, Selective Calling and Rhode Island Statewide Call Plan services
that the customer initfally ordered.

a. | The customer can only receive one credit per installation

A. | This guarantee provides a credit on the Telephone Company bill to residence and business
customers (including PBX)} who notify the Telephone Company to disconnect any of the following
services/feafures because the customer is dissatisfied.

1. | Custom Calling— Call Forwarding, Call Forwarding Busy Line Don’t Answer, Call Forwarding
Busy Line and Call Forwarding Don't Answer, Call Waiting, Speed Dialing 8, Speed Dialing 30,
Three Way Calling

2. | Phonesmart— Calier ID, Busy Redial
3. | Distinctive Ring

4. | Voice Dialing (Effective February 19, 2005, Voice Dialing will be withdrawn from this tariff, and the
Telephone Company will no longer provide this service as of that date.)

5. | WorkSmart Package

B. | The customer is responsible for notifying the Telephone Company of his decisicn to disconnect
within sixty days of installation. When the expiration of the sixty day period falls on a weekend or
legal holiday, the customer has uniil the first day following the weekend or legal holiday to notify
the Telephone Company. In such event, the customer will be entifled io a credit for the
serviceffeature charge(s) and monthly rate(s) accrued through the disconnect date.

Issued: May 16, 2008 Theresa L. O’Brien
Effective: June 15, 2008 Vice President Regulatory-RI




PUC RI No. 15

Verizon New England inc.

Rates and Charges
Part M Section 1

Page 1

First Supplement fo the Seventh Revision
Canceling Sixth Revision

1. Exchange and Network Services
1.1 Tariff Information and General Regulations
ID Service Category Rate Element Rate UsocC
Bill Credit

Residence — Per main telephone
exchange line
Note: Customers are eligible for a
one-time $50.00 bifi credit if they
meet the conditions specified in Part
A, Section 1, 1.4.5.A 3 of this tariff. Sea Note

Service Category

Rate

usoc

ID Rate Element
Returned Check or
Draft Per check or draft 15.00

UsocC

Service Category Rate Element Rate
Two Tier Rate Plan
Transfer of Service | NRC 110.00
Twao Tier Rate Plan | Conversion Subsequent to Initial

installation — S&E 5.70
Variable Term Change in Length of OPP to Another
Payment Plan OPP Longer Than Existing OPP 5.70

Issued: May 16, 2008
Effective: June 15, 2008

Theresa L. C’Brien
Vice President Regulatory-Rl
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