STATE OF RHODE ISLAND AND PROVIDENCE PLANTATIONS
PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION

IN RE: NARRAGANSETT BAY COMMISSION DOCKET NO. 3905
APPLICATION TO CHANGE RATE SCHEDULES

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARINGS

Pursuant to the provisions of Sections 39-1-1 and 39-3-11 of the General Laws, as
amended, the Public Utilities Commission (“Commission”) will conduct public hearings on

the following dates and locations:

April 1, 2008 @ 7:00 P.M. Pawtucket City Hall Council Chambers
137 Roosevelt Street
Pawtucket, Rhode Island

April 29,2008 @ 9:30 A.M. Public Utilities Commission
89 Jefferson Boulevard
Warwick, Rhode Island

The hearings may continue thereafter from day to day and time to time as required.

In this docket, the Commission will examine the propriety of an application by the
Narragansett Bay Commission (“NBC”) seeking approval to implement new rates designed to
generate additional revenues in the amount of $10,924,164 to support a total revenue
requirement of $77,231,261. The impact of the proposal is a 17.13% across-the-board
increase applied to both flat fees and measured usage fees residential and non-residential rates.
If approved, a typical residential customer using 200 gallons of water per day will incur a bill
increase of $58.67 per year from $337.71 to $396.38. The impact of the rate increase on all
other customers will vary depending upon the customer’s classification and consumption. The
Commission may approve different rates that may be higher or lower than those proposed by

NBC.



The application is on file for examination at the Commission’s office and at the office
of the Narragansett Bay Commission, One Service Road, Providence, Rhode Island. The

filing can be accessed at www.ripuc.org under Commission Docket Menu, Docket No. 3905.

Reference is made to Chapters 39-1, 39-3 and 42-35 of the Rhode Island General
Laws; specifically Sections 39-1-7, 39-1-8, 39-1-11, 39-1-12, 39-1-16, 39-1-18, 39-1-20, 42-

35-8 and 42-35-10.

THESE BUILDINGS ARE ACCESSIBLE TO THE HANDICAPPED.
INDIVIDUALS REQUESTING INTERPRETER SERVICES FOR THE HEARING
IMPAIRED MUST NOTIFY THE COMMISSION CLERK’S OFFICE AT 945-4500,
SEVENTY-TWO HOURS IN ADVANCE OF HEARING DATE.

Luly E. Massaro
Commission Clerk
March 21, 2008



