
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
October 22, 2003 
 
 
 
Luly Massaro, Clerk 
Rhode Island Public Utilities Commission 
89 Jefferson Boulevard 
Warwick, Rhode Island 02888 
 
 
Subject:  Revision to Narragansett Bay Commissions Service Fee Schedule 
 
 
Dear Ms. Massaro: 
 
In accordance with the Public Utilities Commission’s Rules of Practice and Procedure we are transmitting 
these revisions to the established Service Fee Schedule for the Narragansett Bay Commission.  We have 
attached two copies of the required documentation (i.e., documents showing changes). 
 
These revisions reflect amendments to the Rhode Island General Laws that now require NBC to record 
deeds and redemption certificates instead of the lien purchasers (see Attachments 1 & 2).  Due to the fact 
that all costs listed on NBC’s Service Fee Schedule are costs passed through to the customer, these 
revisions are necessary. 
  
Please let me know if you have any questions or require any additional information on this matter. 
 
 
Sincerely, 
 
 
Karen L. Giebink 
Director Administration and Finance 
 
 
 
 
Enclosures 
 
CC: Paul Pinault, Executive Director 
       Peter McGinn, Esq. 
        

  



Marked-Up 
Narragansett Bay Commission 

Terms & Conditions 
Service Fee Schedule 

(Effective July 8, 2003November 22, 2003) 
     

  SERVICE     FEE  
     
Returned Check Fee   $20.00 per returned check 
      
Lien Sale Fees:     
      
 Certified Mail     $10.00 each  
      
 Title Fee    $90.00 each  
      

 

Newspaper Ad   

  

Billed at advertising cost in 
relation to number of lien sales 

 
      
 Deed Fee    $75.00 each  
      
 Recording of Deed   $80.00 each  
      
 Recording of Redemption Certificate  $45.00 each  
      
 Recording of Duplicate Redemption Certificate  $45.00 each  
      

 

Auctioneer Fee 

  

Billed at auctioneer costs in 
relation to the number of lien 
sales  

Water Shut Off Fees:     
      
 Letter to Inform   $5.00   
      
 Posting Property   $10.00   
      
 Water Shut Off Fee   $64.00   
      
 Water Reconnect Fee   $43.00   
      
* Special Requests for services not listed above that do 

not benefit all customers   
Billed at actual costs plus 
overhead rates in effect   

 



Proposed 
Narragansett Bay Commission 

Terms & Conditions 
Service Fee Schedule 
(Effective November 22, 2003) 

     
  SERVICE     FEE  
     
Returned Check Fee   $20.00 per returned check 
      
Lien Sale Fees:     
      
 Certified Mail     $10.00 each  
      
 Title Fee    $90.00 each  
      

 

Newspaper Ad   

  

Billed at advertising cost in 
relation to number of lien sales 

 
      
 Deed Fee    $75.00 each  
      
 Recording of Deed   $80.00 each  
      
 Recording of Redemption Certificate  $45.00 each  
      
 Recording of Duplicate Redemption Certificate  $45.00 each  
      

 

Auctioneer Fee 

  

Billed at auctioneer costs in 
relation to the number of lien 
sales  

Water Shut Off Fees:     
      
 Letter to Inform   $5.00   
      
 Posting Property   $10.00   
      
 Water Shut Off Fee   $64.00   
      
 Water Reconnect Fee   $43.00   
      
* Special Requests for services not listed above that do 

not benefit all customers   
Billed at actual costs plus 
overhead rates in effect   
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======= 

S T A T E   O F   R H O D E   I S L A N D  

IN GENERAL ASSEMBLY 

JANUARY SESSION, A.D. 2003 
____________ 

 

A N   A C T 

RELATING TO TAX SALES 

Introduced By: Representative William   San Bento 

Date Introduced: May 06, 2003 

Referred To: House Finance 

 

 
It is enacted by the General Assembly as follows: 

SECTION 1. Sections 44-9-3, 44-9-4, 44-9-5, 44-9-6, 44-9-9, 44-9-11, 44-9-12, 44-9-13, 1 

44-9-19, 44-9-21, 44-9-24, 44-9-25, 44-9-35 and 44-9-43 of the General Laws in Chapter 44-9 2 

entitled "Tax Sales" are hereby amended to read as follows: 3 

 44-9-3. Lien of fire district and lighting district taxes. --  44-9-3. Lien of fire district,  4 

lighting district and other district taxes. --   44-9-3. Lien of fire district, lighting district, 5 

water district, sewer district and road district. - -  All taxes ,charges, assessments, assessed 6 

against any person in any fire district, water district, sewer district, road district and in any 7 

lighting district within this state, pursuant to the act of incorporation of the district, for either real 8 

or personal estate, shall constitute a lien upon that person's real estate in the district for the space 9 

of three (3) years after the assessment, and, if the real estate is not aliened alienated, then until the 10 

taxes are collected. 11 

44-9-4. Powers of fire district and lighting district collectors. --  44-9-4. Powers of  12 

fire district, lighting district and other collectors. --  The collector of taxes of every fire 13 

district, water district, sewer district, road district and of every lighting district shall have all the 14 

powers and privileges and be subject to all the duties and liabilities which are conferred or 15 

imposed upon collectors of taxes in towns. 16 

44-9-5. Agreements between towns and fire districts.   44-9-5. Agreements  between 17 

towns and fire districts, water districts, sewer districts, road districts, lighting districts, and 18 

lien priorities. -- Towns and fire districts , water districts, sewer districts, road districts and 19 
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 2 

lighting districts are authorized to make agreements with respect to the parcel of property upon 1 

which they respectively own tax liens in respect to the disposition of the liens, of the parcel of 2 

property subject to the liens, and of the proceeds of a tax sale of the property.  3 

44-9-6. Primary liability of life estate. -- In case of a life estate, the interest of the tenant 4 

for life shall first be liable for the tax. , and the remainderman, if assessed, shall be secondarily 5 

liable. 6 

44-9-9. Notice and advertisement of sale. -- Before the sale the collector shall give 7 

notice of the time and place of sale posted in two (2) or more public places in the town at least 8 

three (3) weeks before the time of the sale. The collector shall also cause to be published in some 9 

public newspaper published in the town, if there is one, and if there is no public newspaper 10 

published in the town, then in some public newspaper published in the county, a statement 11 

concerning the time and place of sale, the real estate liable for payment of taxes, and the name of 12 

the person against whom the real estate was assessed, with a list of the parcel or parcels to be 13 

offered for sale by the recorded plat and lot number, or by assessors' plat and lot number, or by 14 

other adequate description. The newspaper notice giving this full description shall be inserted, 15 

once, at least three (3) weeks prior to the date of the advertised sale, and thereafter a weekly 16 

formal legal notice, between the date of original advertisement and the time of sale specified in 17 

the notice, shall be inserted, stating that the collector will sell at public auction real estate thus 18 

advertised. The subsequent formal legal notice shall include reference to the original 19 

advertisement which gave full description. Whenever a advertised tax sale is continued or 20 

postponed, a formal legal notice giving the new date shall be inserted at least one week prior to 21 

the new date.  Any notice of sale shall inform any party entitled to notice of its right of 22 

redemption and shall explain to such party the manner in which said right shall be exercised and 23 

inform said party of the penalties and forfeiture that may occur if the right of redemption is not 24 

exercised.  25 

44-9-11. Notice to mortgagees and other parties in interest. -- (a) In case the collector 26 

shall advertise for sale any property, real, personal, or mixed, in which any person other than the 27 

person to whom the tax is assessed has an interest, it shall not be necessary for the collector to 28 

notify the interested party, except for the following interested parties, provided that their interest 29 

was of record at least ninety (90) days prior to the date set for the sale: the present owner of 30 

record, mortgagees of record and mortgage assignees of record, former fee holders whose right to 31 

redeem has not been foreclosed, holders of tax title, federal agencies having a recorded lien on the 32 

subject property, holders of life estates of record, and vested remainder whose identity can be 33 

ascertained from an examination of the land or probate records of the municipality conducting the 34 



 3 

sale, and/or their assignees of record who shall be notified by the collector either by registered or 1 

certified mail sent postpaid not less than twenty (20) days before the date of sale or any 2 

adjournment of the sale, to an agent authorized by appointment or by law to receive service of 3 

process, or to the address of the party in interest set forth in the recorded mortgage document or 4 

the recorded assignment, or to the last known address of the party in interest, but no notice of 5 

adjournments shall be necessary other than the announcement made at the sale. The posting and 6 

publication of the notice of the time and place of sale in the manner provided by section 44-9-9 7 

shall be deemed sufficient notice to all other interested parties. This provision shall apply to all 8 

taxes levied prior to and subsequent to 1896. 9 

 (b) Only a person or entity failing to receive notice in accordance with the provisions of 10 

this section and sections 44-9-9 and 44-9-10 shall be entitled to raise the issue of lack of notice or 11 

defective notice to void the tax sale. The right to notice shall be personal to each party entitled to 12 

it and shall not be asserted on behalf of another party in interest. If there is a defect in notice, the 13 

tax sale  shall be void only as to the party deprived of adequate notice, but shall be valid as to all 14 

other parties in interest who received proper notice of the tax sale. 15 

 (c) Once a petition is filed under section 44-9-25, and any party in interest entitled to 16 

notice of the tax sale receives actual notice of the pendency of the petition to foreclose, the party 17 

must raise the notice defense in accordance with the provisions of section 44-9-31 or be estopped 18 

from alleging lack of notice in any action to vacate a final decree entered in accordance with 19 

section 44-9-30. 20 

 44-9-12. Collector's deed -- Rights conveyed to purchaser -- Recording. -- (a) The 21 

collector shall execute and deliver to the purchaser a deed of the land, stating the cause of sale, 22 

the price for which the land was sold, the places where the notices were posted, the name of the 23 

newspaper in which the advertisement of the sale was published, and the residence of the grantee. 24 

The deed shall convey the land to the purchaser, subject to the right of redemption. The conveyed 25 

title shall, until redemption or until the right of redemption is foreclosed, be held as security for 26 

the repayment of the purchase price, with all intervening costs, terms imposed for redemption, 27 

and charges, with interest, and the premises conveyed, both before and after either redemption or 28 

foreclosure, shall also be subject to and have the benefit of all easements and restrictions lawfully 29 

existing in, upon, or over the land or appurtenant to the land. The deed is not valid against 30 

intervening interests unless recorded within sixty (60) days after the sale. If recorded it is prima 31 

facie evidence of all facts essential to the validity of the title conveyed by the deed.  It shall be the 32 

duty of the collector to record the deed within sixty (60) days of the sale and to forward said deed 33 

promptly to the tax sale purchaser.  The applicable recording fee shall be paid by the redeeming 34 
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party.  Except as provided, no sale shall give to the purchaser any right to either the possession, or 1 

the rents, or profits of the land until the expiration of one year after the date of the sale, nor shall 2 

any sale obviate or transfer any responsibility of an owner of property to comply with any statute 3 

of this state or ordinance of any municipality governing the use, occupancy, or maintenance or 4 

conveyance of property until the right of redemption is foreclosed. 5 

(b) The rents to which the purchaser shall be entitled after the expiration of one (1) year 6 

and prior to redemption shall be those net rents actually collected by the former fee holder or a 7 

mortgagee under an assignment of rents.  Rents shall not include mere rental value of the land.  8 

Nor shall the purchaser be entitled to any rents from owner-occupied, single -unit residential 9 

property.  For purposes of redemption, net rents shall be computed by deducting from gross rents 10 

actually collected, any sums expended directly on behalf of the tenant from whom the rent was 11 

collected.  Such expenditures shall include utilities furnished and repairs made to the tenanted 12 

unit. 13 

(c) This tax title purchaser shall not be liable for any enforcement or penalties arising 14 

from violations of environmental or minimum housing standards prior to the expiration of one (1) 15 

year from the date of the tax sale, except for violations which are the result of intentional acts by 16 

the tax sale purchaser or his or her agents. 17 

(d) In all cases where the redeeming party disputes the assessment of net rents by the tax 18 

title purchaser, the burden of proof shall be on the tax title purchaser to establish to the court the 19 

amount of the net rents. The tax title purchaser shall not be entitled to attorneys’ fees incurred in 20 

establishing to the court the amount of the net rents. 21 

 (b)(e) Upon the expiration of one year after the date of the sale, the tax title holder shall 22 

be jointly and severally liable with the owner for all responsibility and liability for the property 23 

and shall be responsible to comply with any statute of this state or ordinance of any municipality 24 

governing the use, occupancy, or maintenance or conveyance of the property even prior to the 25 

right of redemption being foreclosed. Nothing in this section shall be construed, however, to 26 

confer any liability upon a city or town which receives tax title as a result of any bids being made 27 

for the land offered for sale at an amount equal to the tax and charges. 28 

44-9-13. Entry by collector not required -- Recording of tax sale list. -- (a) No entry 29 

upon the land by the collector shall be deemed necessary, but the collector in all cases of sales of 30 

real estate shall deliver to the clerk's or recorder's office a list of those properties sold at tax sale 31 

which the clerk or recorder shall record or post in the land evidence records for their city or town 32 

within forty-eight (48) hours five (5) bus iness days after the sale of real estate. The recorded or 33 

posted list shall include the assessed owner's name,  the address of the property, and the assessor's 34 
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plat and lot, and the recorded or posted list shall be conclusive evidence of the facts stated in the 1 

list. 2 

 (b) No properties shall be sold at tax sale to any bidder who is delinquent in the paying 3 

of taxes or is an officer, more than ten percent (10%) shareholder or owner of a partnership or 4 

corporation or limited liability company that is delinquent in the paying of taxes on any property 5 

located within the city or town in which the tax sale is held, unless the bidder has agreed to a 6 

written payment plan approved by the collector and is current on any and all payments required 7 

by the plan. The collector may require a bidder or an authorized officer or partner of the bidder to 8 

execute an affidavit that the bidder is qualified under this provision. 9 

44-9-19. Right of redemption from town. – (a) Any person having an interest in land 10 

sold for nonpayment of taxes, or his or her heirs or assigns, at any time prior to the filing of a 11 

petition for foreclosure under section 44-9-25, if the land has been purchased by the town and has 12 

not been assigned, may redeem the land by paying or tendering to the treasurer the sum for which 13 

the real estate was purchased, plus a penalty which shall be ten percent (10%) of the purchase 14 

price if redeemed within six (6) months after the date of the collector’s sale, and an additional one 15 

percent of the purchase price for each succeeding month, together with all charges lawfully added 16 

for intervening taxes, which have been paid to the municipality, plus interest thereon at a rate of 17 

one percent (1%) per month, and expenses assessed subsequently to the collector’s sale. 18 

(b) The certificate of redemption shall be recorded by the treasurer on the land records 19 

within twenty (20) days after the entire redemption amount has been paid to the municipality.  20 

The recording costs for the certificate of redemption shall be paid by the redeeming party. 21 

(c) The right of redemption may be exercised only by those entitled to notice of the sale 22 

pursuant to sections 44-9-10 and 44-9-11. 23 

44-9-21. Redemption from purchaser other than town. -- Any person may redeem by 24 

paying or tendering to a purchaser, other than the town, his or her legal representatives, or 25 

assigns, or to the person to whom an assignment of a tax title has been made by the town, at any 26 

time prior to the filing of the petition for foreclosure, in the case of a purchaser the original sum 27 

and any intervening taxes which have been paid to the municipality plus interest thereon at the 28 

rate of one (1%) per month and costs paid by him or her, plus a penalty as provided in section 44-29 

9-19, or in the case of an assignee of a tax title from a town, the amount stated in the instrument 30 

of assignment, plus the above-mentioned penalty. He or she may also redeem the land by paying 31 

or tendering to the treasurer the sum which he or she would be required to pay to the purchaser or 32 

to the assignee of a tax title, in which case the town treasurer shall be constituted the agent of the 33 

purchaser or assignee.  The right of redemption may be exercised only by those entitled to notice 34 
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of the sale pursuant to sections 44-9-10 and 44-9-11. 1 

44-9-24. Title absolute after foreclosure of redemption -- Jurisdiction of 2 

proceedings. -- The title conveyed by a tax collector's deed shall be absolute after foreclosure of 3 

the right of redemption by decree of the superior court as provided in this chapter. 4 

Notwithstanding the rules of civil procedure or the provisions of chapter 21 of title 9, no decree 5 

shall be vacated except in a separate action instituted within one year following entry of the 6 

decree and in no event for any reason, later than one year following the entry of decree. 7 

Furthermore, the action to vacate shall only be instituted for inadequacy of notice amounting to a 8 

denial of due process or for the invalidity of  the tax sale. The superior court shall have exclusive 9 

jurisdiction of the foreclosure of all rights of redemption from titles conveyed by a tax collector's 10 

deed, and the foreclosure proceedings shall follow the course of equity in a proceeding provided 11 

for in sections 44-9-25 -- 44-9-33. 12 

44-9-25. Petition for foreclosure of redemption. --  (a) After one year from a sale of 13 

land for taxes, except as provided in sections 44-9-19 -- 44-9-22, whoever then holds the title 14 

acquired may bring a petition in the superior court for the foreclosure of all rights of redemption 15 

thereunder. The petition shall set forth a description of the land to which it applies, with its 16 

assessed valuation, the petitioner's source of title, giving a reference to the place, book, and page 17 

of record, and other facts as may be necessary for the information of the court. Two (2) or more 18 

parcels of land may be included in any petition brought by a town, as any purchaser of a title or 19 

titles, if the parcels are in the same record ownership at the time of bringing the petition (Form 5). 20 

(b) No more than one (1) foreclosure petition may be filed for each tax deed regardless of 21 

the number of tax title holders having an interest under such deed. If more than one (1) petition is 22 

filed the petitions shall be consolidated for hearing by the court. The court shall not award more 23 

than one (1) attorneys’ fee to the petitioners. 24 

44-9-35. Errors and irregularities in proceedings. -- No tax title shall be held to be 25 

invalid by reason of any error or irregularity which is neither substantial nor misleading, whether 26 

the error or irregularity occurs in the proceedings of the collector or the assessors or in the 27 

proceedings of any other official or officials charged with duties in connection with the 28 

establishment of the tax title ., or in the proceedings to foreclose the rights of redemption as set 29 

forth in sections 44-9-25 to 44-9-33, inclusive. Failure of notice under sections 44-9-9, 44-9-10 30 

and 44-9-11 may only be raised by a party who was not sent notice, and, if failure of notice be 31 

proved, the collector’s sale shall be invalid only as to that party and no other.    32 

44-9-43. Refund of purchase price when title based on sale without foreclosure 33 

adjudged invalid. -- If, as the result of a petition, the petitioner's title is adjudged  determined to 34 
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be invalid by the superior court because of errors or irregula rities in the tax proceedings upon 1 

which it was based, the clerk, upon request, shall issue a certificate to that effect. The treasurer of 2 

the town where the land affected by the title is situated, upon receipt of a release by the holder of 3 

the title of all interest deed from the petitioner conveying all of the interest which he or she may 4 

have under it, together with the certificate, shall refund to the holder the amount paid, but not 5 

exceeding the amount received by the city or town. 6 

SECTION 2. This act shall take effect on January 6, 2004. 7 

======= 
LC03217/SUB A 
=======
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EXPLANATION 

BY THE LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL 

OF 

A N   A C T 

RELATING TO TAX SALES 

***

This act would make numerous changes to the tax sales law. 1 

This act would take effect on January 6, 2004.  2 

======= 
LC03217/SUB A 
======= 



 

S. 2003 -- H 6412 
   SUBSTITUTE A 
 

A N   A C T 

RELATING TO TAX SALES 

======= 
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======= 

====================================================================== 
Presented by 

 



 

34-13-7. General recording fees. --  (a) The fees to the recording officers for recording 

the following described instruments relating to real estate shall be as follows:  

Warranty deed     $25.00  $80.00 

Quitclaim deed     25.00  80.00 

Deed of executor, administrator, 

trustee, conservator, receiver 

or commissioner    25.00  80.00 

Mortgage     25.00  60.00 

Partial release of mortgage   10.00  45.00 

Assignment of mortgage   10.00  45.00 

Foreclosure deed under power of sale  

with affidavit     25.00  80.00 

Lease      25.00  60.00 

General assignment    10.00  45.00 

Discharge of mortgage    10.00  45.00 

Discharge of attachment or execution  4.00  45.00 

Any other instrument not otherwise  

expressly provided for by statute  10.00  45.00 

Lien - Federal tax    4.00  7.25 

Lien - Federal tax, discharge of  4.00  7.25 

Maps, plats, surveys, drawings (not  

attached to or a part of another  

recordable instrument)    30.00  45.00 

Bill of sale     25.00  45.00 

Power of attorney    10.00  45.00 
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Lis pendens     10.00  80.00 

(b) The recording officers shall be allowed to charge a rate of one dollar ($1.00) for each 

additional page or fraction over. 

(c) Ten percent (10%) of the recording fees provided for in this section shall be utilized 

by each city or town for the purposes of document preservation and technological upgrades.  

SECTION 11. Sections 3-7-3, 3-7-7, 3-7-7.1, 3-7-8, 3-7-11 and 3-7-13 of the General 

Laws in Chapter 3-7 entitled "Retail Licenses" are hereby amended to read as follows: 




